Library Guides: Music Performance: Find Journal Articles

Do you know which search terms to use to find great articles on your topic?
Experiment with your keywords in one of these broad search options before diving into more specialised search locations.

Discovery searches across a large number of databases. Use Advanced Search and subject filters for the best results.
Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases
Google Scholar is a convenient search tool, but you'll need to set up Find it @ Unimelb links to effectively use Google Scholar for library research.

Once you've found a few good resources, explore some subject-specific databases and journals.

Why are there so many places to search?

Visit the Comparing Search Pathways guide for a quick explainer.

Key Databases & Indexes

Play with a Pro
(Brass and Woodwind) Play with a Pro is primarily a movie library, containing a continuously growing number of high quality movies, in which the great teachers and musicians of our time share their knowledge and passion for classical music. These movies portray the artists and go behind the scene to unfold the thoughts and insights they have put into their own music making. Featuring Emmanuel Pahud, David Bilger, Kristian Steenstrup, Sergio Azzolini, Roger Bobo, Lee Morgan, Adam Simonsen, Radovan Vlatkovic and more.
Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)
The online searchable version of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and associated references.
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
An extensive reference tool on worldwide musical instruments
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Reliable bibliographies of subject resources, compiled by scholars. Subject modules include Music
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
The most comprehensive music database. Indexes over 11,000 journals on music and related disciplines. Includes areas such as musicology and interdisciplinary studies
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with full text (EBSCOhost)
A retrospective index to international music periodicals of the 1800s and 1900-1950
Music Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to 800 international music periodicals with selective full text
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the last 10 years of publication
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Titles span a wide range of disciplines, including leading journals in core areas such as business & economics, education, history, and language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a wide range of academic content.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Doctoral dissertations and many masters theses, across all subjects. International coverage. Provides full text of most recent items; some full text prior to 1997.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

BabelScores
BabelScores is an online library of contemporary music, including well-known composers as well as emergent young talents from all over the world. It offers a large growing collection of streaming audio alongside the scores which are available in a virtual booklet format. 3 concurrent users.

Music Journals

American String Teacher
Classical Guitar
Classical Music
Magazine covering the latest news and developments in the classical music profession.
Clavier Companion
Magazine dedicated to the support of keyboard pedagogy in all its varied aspects.
The Flautist
Official Journal of the Victorian Flute Guild.
Flute Focus
An international quarterly magazine for flute players.
Guitar (London)
The Horn Call
The journal of the International Horn Society.
International Piano Quarterly
A leading independent magazine for the piano world.
International Trombone Association Journal
Journal of the International Trombone Association.
Journal of Singing
The official journal of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, Inc.
Modern Drummer (MD)
Music + Practice
A peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to the study of practices in music, with contributions from academics and practitioners. Also covers artistic research and performance studies.
Musical Opinion
British classical music journal published since 1877.
The Musical Times
Classical music journal published since 1844.
Opera
Magazine covering all areas of opera.
Opera News
Monthly magazine published by the Metropolitan Opera Guild.
Percussive Notes
Saxophone Journal
An international journal that covers all aspects of saxophone playing.
Strad
Website at: http://www.thestrad.com/. Includes the Strad Directory which lists professionals in the string industry.
Strings
Website at : http://www.stringsmagazine.com/
The Viol / The Viola da Gamba Society
Journal of the Viola da Gamba Society of America

Music Education Journals

There are a number of key electronic journals on music education available through the library catalogue