Library Guides: Population and Global Health: Databases

Databases - Medical, health sciences and policy

MEDLINE (Ovid)
Covers basic research in the biomedical and clinical sciences, as well as major health-related subjects including Public Health.
PubMed
Covers basic research in the biomedical and clinical sciences, as well as major health-related subjects including Public Health.

Which platform do I use, PubMed or Medline (Ovid)? Check out our FAQs

Global Health (Ovid)
International medical and public health. Strong coverage of grey literature - proceedings, theses, electronic-only publications.
Note: The same database can be searched via the Ovid platform or CAB platform
Global Health (CAB Direct)
International medical and public health. Strong coverage of grey literature - proceedings, theses, electronic-only publications.
Note: The same database can be searched via the Ovid platform or CAB platform

CINAHL
Comprehensive coverage of nursing and allied health, including including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine.
PsycINFO
International literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, social work and pharmacology.
EMBASE (Ovid)
Comprehensively covers clinical literature including drug safety and development, medical devices and basic biomedical science.
Includes European journals and conference abstracts not available in Medline.

Health Collection (Informit)
Australian Health topics such as therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. Contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports.

For Indigenous health resources see Australia Indigenous Health.

Cochrane Library
Independent, high quality evidence to inform health care decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and other forms of reliable evidence. Cochrane Reviews provide combined results of medical research studies and are recognised as a standard in evidence-based health care.

Campbell Systematic Reviews
Publishes open-access systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods papers on social science topics, aiming to provide high-quality evidence for well-informed public policy decisions.
Topic areas, include education, crime and justice, disability, international development, aging, sexual orientation and gender identity.
Evidence-based Medicine Reviews (Ovid)
Combines 7 databases including the Cochrane Library databases, ACP Journal Club and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. Databases can be searched together or individually on the Ovid platform. Medline (Ovid) searches can be re-run on the database.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Global coverage of business and economics. Includes journals, theses, working papers and key magazines such as the Economist.
APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
Australian current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
EconLit
Economics literature. Includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, theses, working papers and full-text book reviews.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Covers scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Coverage is worldwide, with more than half of Scopus content originating from outside North America. Please note that Embase records are covered by Scopus, and Scopus will search the Embase Thesaurus called Emtree headings
Features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Conferences: Yes
Web of Science
Science, technology, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Good coverage of material pre-1970. Selects "journals of influence".
Conferences: Yes
Google Scholar
All subject areas.
Limited search options.
Conferences: Yes, also tutorials, posters, presentations, newsletters (not peer-reviewed)