Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the library catalogue
To find books, search the Library Catalogue (using the search form below) and include "United Kingdom" as a keyword or see the selected texts below.
Key titles on English legal topics
This book below includes brief introductions to 97 legal topics, with a very useful list of leading texts relevant to each.
To find journal articles, use the following databases (all are UniMelb access only):
Includes full text journals and the Legal Journals Index
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with millions of pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The collection features legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries in addition to its vast collection of current day law journals. Each collection can be searched separately, or cross-searched from the HeinOnline homepage.
Cambridge Core Journals
Browse journals by subject > law
Lexis Advance US Research (International)
Go to Legal > Find Laws by country or region > United Kingdom > Journals > UK Law Journals
Find legal histories
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
The Selden Society was founded in 1887 to encourage the study and advance the knowledge of the history of English law. The Selden Society researches and studies the history of the law, development of legal ideas, the legal profession, the courts, judges and lawyers, literature and legal records, English common law and the legal system. Provides access to early English legal history manuscripts and yearbooks.
All these resources are UniMelb access only.