Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Australian & Comparative Constitutional Law (ARCHIVE: Secondary Sources

This guide will help with your research in Australian, Global and Comparative Constitutional Law.

BOOKS

Library Catalogue Search

The Law Library has many print and e-books on Australian Constitutional Law. Print books are at KM 76 on Level 5 of the Law Library, and in the High Use Collection.  

 

Reference Books

Recent Print and eBooks on Australian Federal Constitutional Law

COMMENTARY

Encyclopaedic Commentary

Encylopaedias are a great place to start your research - they provide succinct commentary on your topic and list leading and illustrative cases. 

Halsbury's Laws of Australia, Title 90 - Constitutional Law - on Lexis Advance (UniMelb staff & student access) is arranged by topic and includes commentary and leading and illustrative cases.

 

The Laws of Australia ​Topic 19: Government on Westlaw AU is another source of encyclopaedic commentary which can be browsed or searched and is arranged by topic and includes commentary and leading and illustrative cases. To browse, scroll to Topic 19: Government in the alphabetical topic list and then use the + sign to keep opening up to more and more specific topics. All topic 19 sub-topics are on constitutional law, beginning with Constitutional Law at 19.1. 

Annotators

'Annotators' provide section by section treatment, providing commentary and leading cases on each Constitutional provision.

See the Annotators page of this Guide.

JOURNAL ARTICLES

Australian Constitutional Law Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Journal articles provide current scholarly opinion and analysis of specific aspects of your topic. They are more in-depth and often more up to date than books or encyclopaedic commentary.  

Indexes & Abstracts

The following resources allow you to search many journals at the same time.

AUSTRALASIAN DATABASES

AGIS on the INFORMIT platform (UniMelb staff & student access) - articles in Australasian law journals from the 1970s+ - some articles are in full text. AGIS is available electronically from the Law Library’s Research Databases page or the Catalogue. Use this database to search for articles on a specific constitutional law topic eg: separation of powers, or a specific section of the Constitution.

AustLII Legal Scholarship Library (open access) - full text journal and judicial scholarship articles.

MULTIJURISDICTIONAL DATABASES

Don't restrict yourself to searching Australian journal databases - many others contain articles about Australian law. We recommend:

Index to Legal Periodicals (on the EBSCO platform) (UniMelb staff & student access) - this database allows you to search over 1000 journals from all over the world at the same time. Articles are from the early 1980s to current. For earlier articles, use Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908–1981 - this is a good source of earlier commentary on the Constitution. Many of the entries link to the full text.

SSRN (includes Legal Scholarship Network) (open access) - full text database of working papers and pre-published journal articles and book chapters. This is the best resource for completely up to date articles.

For information on other databases to use to find relevant journal articles, refer to the Journals page on our Secondary Sources for Legal Research Guide.

Selected Articles

HEIN Online's World Constitutions Illustrated contains an excellent bibliography linking to the full text articles. Scroll to Scholarly Articles Chosen by Our Editors for both early and current articles on specific topics.

 Individual Journal Titles

Constitutional law & policy review (ceased publication with vol 13(3) in 2011)

  • Online on Lexis Advance from vol 7 2004-vol 13 2011
  • In print: UniM Law P CONS v.1-12, 1998-2010

Public Law Review

Federal Law Review