Aerial Photography @ UniMelb
This guide is intended for use by The University of Melbourne students and research staff. All hardcopy resources held by the Library Map Collection are viewable within the Baillieu Library, Reading Room.
Requests for duplication or copying services from The University of Melbourne staff or students - for research and/or teaching purposes only - should be discussed with Map Collection staff.
Duplication/copy services are not available to members of the public.
URL https://library.unimelb.edu.au/collections/map_collection
Email maps-info@unimelb.edu.au
Twitter https://twitter.com/MapCurator
- nearmap ltd
Online hi-res Aerial Photography. The University of Melbourne has a subscription for enrolled staff and students to nearmap. Login using you UniMelb email address.
Some students have reported not being able to gain access even while using their UniMelb email address. If this is the case please try again while using the university's student VPN service. VPN instructions are here: https://studentit.unimelb.edu.au/wireless-vpn/vpn
Victorian Landata online repository
- Victorian Landata serviceThe LANDATA® business is focussed on delivering title, survey, valuation and property sales, property certificates, planning certificates and historical aerial photography.
This is a fee for service repository of the Victorian government archive digitalised repository
-
Click the ‘Central Plan Office’ link
-
Select ‘ Historic Aerial Photography - 1930s to 1990s’
-
Register a personal account and login
-
Either search the map for the area of interest or use the tools to navigate the map
Use the ‘Identify Aerial Photograph’ tool and click on the small coloured dots to gain information and select to add to your cart
1940’s 1950’s aerial photographs are available free of charge @ http://mapshare.vic.gov.au/webmap/historical-photomaps/ but this does not include later material.
Historical Aerial Photography
All hardcopy resources held by the Library Map Collection are viewable from within the Map Collection.
Requests for duplication or copying services from University of Melbourne staff or students - for research and/or teaching purposes only - should be discussed with Map Collection staff.
Duplication/copy services are not available to members of the public.
- Victorian Landata serviceThe LANDATA® business is focussed on delivering title, survey, valuation and property sales, property certificates, planning certificates and historical aerial photography.
- Historical Aerial Photos of Victoria 1940s -1950sThese aerial photos provide a snapshot of what Victoria was like in the late 1940s to late1950s
- 1945-1965 Historic Aerial Photography blog, Victorian State LibraryState Aerial Survey produced by the Department of Crown Lands & Survey between 1945-1965. Covers mostly regional Victoria. The majority are scaled at 1:15,840
- Melbourne 1945 and recent timesCompare Melbourne in 1945 to modern Melbourne with this simple interface.
- Melbourne 1945 aerial photomaps imagesDigitalised images (jpg) of the original Melbourne 1945 aerial photomaps in the Map Collection of the University of Melbourne Library
- Geoscience Australia's Historical Aerial Photography (HAP) ProgramAbout the historical Aerial Photography programs in Australia by federal dept. Geoscience Australia
- Geoscience Australia aerial photography flight diagrams and orderingGeoscience Australia Commonwealth vertical and oblique aerial photography. Dating from 1928, the photos provide an accurate historical record of the land.
- Tasmania’s historic & current aerial imagery. 1945 - presentThe index map displays three layers of data; Aerial Photographs, Ortho Photos, and Tiled Digital Photographs.
Pre 2000 Aerial Photography held in the Map Collection
All hard copy maps and aerial photographs are held in the Map Collection on the 4th floor in the ERC Library and can be accessed on request. You cannot borrow items held in the Map Collection and copying restricted by copyright law.
Melbourne 1945. Scale 1:5,660. B&W
- The Map Collection holds, what is believed to be, the only set left of original photomaps of 1945 Melbourne.
- These photomaps are orthorectified and annotated with main street, river and suburb names.
- While the original aerial photography still survives these photomaps have been altered to resemble map sheets.
- Call no.: ERC Maps S 820 br (var) 1945-
- These maps have been digitised (and are now out of copyright restrictions) and placed online in jpeg format for easy access.
- Index.
Victorian 1945-1960 Scale 1:15,840. B&W
- While not all of Victoria is covered, this set is very useful for looking at built area and vegetation coverage.
- Many of the sheets are still within copyright so will not be digitised in the foreseeable future.
- Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy, as the sheets are old and fragile.
- Call no.: MAPS S 820 br (16) 1945-
Melbourne 1970. 1:10,000, B&W
- The Map Collection holds a full set of aerial photographs covering Melbourne.
- While sheet numbers don't match the index, Map Collection staff can use the run numbers to locate individual sheets.
- This may take a while if there are no handle landmarks.
- Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy as the sheets are old and fragile.
- Call no.: MAPS Z AIR 820.9536 br (10) 1970
Melbourne 1982. 1:25,000, B&W
- This is a good set of aerial photographs that cover large areas of Melbourne in moderate detail.
- No index is presently available so Map Collection staff may take a while to find the area you require
- No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions. The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
- Call no. Z AIR 820.953 br (25) 1982
Melbourne 1989. 1:15,000. Colour
- This series of aerial photography was the last major set purchased in hard copy by the Map Collection.
- It covers most of urban Melbourne and some of the rural area on the edges. At a scale of 1:15 it provides moderate detail, in full colour.
- Indexes are indicative of run numbers only provide an estimate of sheet numbers for Map Collection staff to look up.
- Stereo pairs and a single scope are available for use in the Map Collection.
- No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions. The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
- Call no. Z AIR 821br (15) 1989
Rural Victoria
Digital material for all of the state is available for University of Melbourne students and staff only. Please contact the Map Collection staff to gain access. All digital material is provided under a Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment license for education and research usage by University of Melbourne staff and students only.
Victorian Cities and Towns (Hard copy)
Find below a list of Victorian towns for which aerial photography is held, in alphabetical order by place name. Aerial photos for rural Victoria can sometimes be difficult to source. If you are having difficulties, please contact the Map Collection staff for assistance.
These sheets are available by request in hard copy from the Map Collection staff on level 4 of the ERC library.
| Town Name | Sheet No. | Scale | Date | Colour or B&W |
| Aireys Inlet | 7721 | 1:25,000 | 19-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Albury | 8225 | 1:25,000 | 24-Oct-91 | Colour |
| Alexandria | 8023 | 1:40,000 | 10-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Anglesea | 7721 | 1:25,000 | 19-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Apollo Bay | 7620 | 1:25,000 | 06-Jan-83 | B&W |
| Ararat | 7423 | 1:25,000 | 02-Jan-98 | B&W |
| Bacchus Marsh | 7722 | 1:25,000 | 24-Oct-82 | B&W |
| Bairnsdale | 8422 | 1:25,000 | 26-Nov-78 | B&W |
| Ballan | 7722 | 1:25,000 | 13-Dec-77 | B&W |
| Ballarat | 7622 | 1:25,000 | 10-Sep-81 | B&W |
| Ballarat | 7622 | 1:25,000 | 30-Nov-90 | Colour |
| Barooga (NSW) | 8026 | 1:25,000 | 09-Dec-92 | Colour |
| Barwon Heads | 7721 | 1:25,000 | 17-May-84 | B&W |
| Beach Forest | 7620 | 1:25,000 | 13-Feb-83 | B&W |
| Beechworth | 8225 | 1:25,000 | 22-Sep-82 | B&W |
| Bellfield Settlement | 7423 | 1:25,000 | 08-Jan-80 | B&W |
| Benalla | 8024 | 1:25,000 | 11-Jan-93 | Colour |
| Bendigo | 8024 | 1:25,000 | 12-Nov-90 | Colour |
| Bendigo | 7724 | 1:25,000 | 11-Nov-80 | B&W |
| Beufort | 7523 | 1:25,000 | 02-Jan-80 | B&W |
| Beulah | 7326 | 1:40,000? | 05-Mar-73 | B&W |
| Birchip | 7426 | 1:25,000 | 17-Nov-78 | B&W |
| Blackwood | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 22-Dec-89 | Colour |
| Bright | 8224 | 1:50,000 | 18-Mar-80 | B&W |
| Broadford | 7923 | 1:25,000 | 24-12-89 | Colour |
| Buchan | 8522 | 1:25,000 | 29-Jan-92 | Colour |
| Buninyong | 7622 | 1:25,000 | 10-Sep-81 | B&W |
| Camperdown | 7521 | 1:25,000 | 10-Mar-83 | B&W |
| Casterton | 7122 | 1:25,000 | 29-Nov-75 | B&W |
| Castlemaine | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 22-Dec-89 | Colour |
| Castlemaine | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 11-Dec-81 | B&W |
| Charlton | 7527 | 1:25,000 | 15-Dec-78 | B&W |
| Cobram | 8026 | 1:25,000 | 09-Dec-92 | Colour |
| Cohuna | 7626 | 1:25,000 | 13-Nov-89 | Colour |
| Colac | 7621 | 1:25,000 | 12-Dec-82 | B&W |
| Corryong | 8425 | !:25,000 | 22-Feb-86 | B&W |
| Coleraine | 7222 | 1:25,000 | 17-Jan-76 | B&W |
| Creswick | 7623 | 1:25,000 | 08-Oct-81 | B&W |
| Daylesford | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 12-Oct-81 | B&W |
| Dimboola | 2325 | 1:25,000 | 24-Mar-81 | B&W |
| Drouin | 8021 | 1:25,000 | 12-Jan-90 | Colour |
| Echuca | 7825 | 1:25,000 | 19-Oct-90 | Colour |
| Echuca | 7825 | 1:40,000 | 02-Dec-82 | B&W |
| Edenhope | 7123 | 1:25,000 | 24-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Eildon | 8023 | 1:50,000 | 31-Dec-78 | B&W |
| Euroa | 8024 | 1:50,000 | 03-Mar-82 | B&W |
| Euston (NSW) | 7428 | 1:25,000 | 13-Dec-88 | Colour |
| Fish Creek | 8120 | 1:25,000 | 10-Dec-80 | B&W |
| Foster | 8120 | 1:25,000 | 26-Nov-80 | B&W |
| Geelong | 7721 | 1:25,000 | 01-May-84 | B&W |
| Geelong (Melb metro mosaic) | n/a | 0.35m pixels | 2001 | colour; digital |
| Gordan | 7722 | 1:25,000 | 13-Dec-77 | B&W |
| Halls Gap | 7423 | 1:25,000 | 08-Jan-80 | B&W |
| Hamilton | 7322 | 1:25,000 | 26-Oct-79 | B&W |
| Healesville | 8022 | 1:25,000 | 04-Nov-82 | B&W |
| Heathcote | 7824 | 1:25,000 | 22-Dec-89 | Colour |
| Heyfield | 8222 | 1:25,000 | ? | Colour |
| Horsham | 7324 | 1:25,000 | 27-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Inverloch | 8020 | 1:25,000 | 13-Jan-91 | Colour |
| Kerang | 7626 | 1:40,000 | 18-Dec-83 | B&W |
| Kilmore | 7823 | 1:25,000 | 06-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Korumburra | 8021 | 1:25,000 | 07-Dec-79 | B&W |
| Kyneton | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 12-Oct-81 | B&W |
| Lakes Entrance | 8422 | 1:41,000 | 20-Feb-90 | Colour |
| Lakes Entrance | 8422 | 1:25,000 | 02-Dec-78 | B&W |
| Leongatha | 8021 | 1:25,000 | 14-Dec-79 | B&W |
| Lorne | 7620 | 1:25,000 | 18-May-83 | B&W |
| Maffra | 8222 | 1:25,000 | 17-Dec-88 | Colour |
| Mallacoota | 8823 | 1:25,000 | 29-Jan-90 | Colour |
| Manangatang | 7427 | 1:25,000 | 19-Apr-83 | B&W |
| Mansfield | 8123 | 1:25,000 | 14-Jan-92 | Colour |
| Maryborough | 7623 | 1:25,000 | 14-Dec-79 | B&W |
| Mildura | 7329 | 1:25,000 | 26-Nov-80 | B&W |
| Mildura | 7329 | 1:25,000 | 03-Jul-92 | Colour |
| Moama (NSW) | 7825 | 1:25,000 | 19-Oct-90 | Colour |
| Moe | 8121 | 1:40,000 | 06-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Mooroopna | 7925 | 1:40,000 | 18-Jan-83 | B&W |
| Mooroopna | 7925 | 1:40,000 | 05-Nov-90 | Colour |
| Morewell | 8121 | 1:40,000 | 07-Feb-81 | B&W |
| Mortlake | 7421 | 1:25,000 | 23-Sep-83 | B&W |
| Mt. Beauty | 8324 | 1:25,000 | 15-Dec-88 | Colour |
| Mt. Buller | 8123 | 1:25,000 | 27-Feb-92 | Colour |
| Myrtleford | 8224 | 1:50,000 | 18-Mar-80 | B&W |
| Nagambie | 7924 | 1:25,000 | 21-Nov-89 | Colour |
| Nathalia | 7925 | 1:25,000 | 19-Nov-90 | B&W |
| Nhill | 7225 | 1:25,000 | 25-Mar-81 | B&W |
| Nowingi | 7328 | 1:20,000 | 16-Apr-83 | B&W |
| Numurkah | 7925 | 1:50,000 | 05-Dec-82 | B&W |
| Omeo | 8423 | 1:45,000 | 09-Jan-77 | B&W |
| Orbost | 8522 | 1:25,000 | 09-Oct-81 | B&W |
| Ouyen | 7327 | 1:20,000 | 27-Nov-75 | B&W |
| Paynesville | 8422 | 1:25,000 | 02-Dec-78 | B&W |
| Phillip Island | 7921 | 1:25,000 | 28-Nov-89 | Colour |
| Port Campbell | 7420 | 1:25,000 | 02-Jan-91 | Colour |
| Port Campbell | 7420 | 1:25,000 | 13-Feb-83 | B&W |
| Port Fairy | 7321 | 1:25,000 | 03-Jan-81 | B&W |
| Portarlington | 7821 | 1:25,000 | 04-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Portland | 7221 | 1:25,000 | 02-Feb-81 | B&W |
| Queenscliff | 7821 | 1:25,000 | 17-May-84 | B&W |
| Robinvale | 7428 | 1:25,000 | 13-Dec-88 | Colour |
| Robinvale | 7428 | 1:25,000 | 20-Apr-83 | B&W |
| Rokewood | 7622 | 1:25,000 | 16-Sep-81 | B&W |
| Rutherglen | 8125 | 1:25,000 | 02-May-82 | B&W |
| Sale | 8321 | 1:25,000 | 27-Nov-78 | B&W |
| Seymour | 7923 | 1:25,000 | 14-Dec-83 | B&W |
| Shepparton | 7925 | 1:40,000 | 18-Jan-83 | B&W |
| Shepparton | 7925 | 1:40,000 | 05-Nov-90 | Colour |
| St. Arnaud | 7524 | 1:25,000 | 27-Dec-73 | B&W |
| Stawell | 7423 | 1:25,000 | 30-Oct-79 | B&W |
| Stratford | 8322 | 1:25,000 | 27-Apr-90 | Colour |
| Swan Hill | 7627 | 1:15,000 | 18-Apr-83 | B&W |
| Swifts Creek | 8423 | 1:40,000 | 14-Jan-85 | B&W |
| Traralgon | 8221 | 1:30,000 | 17-Mar-80 | B&W |
| The Walnuts | 8423 | 1:40,000 | 14-Jan-85 | B&W |
| Tallangatta | 8325 | 1:25,000 | 6-Jan-88 | Colour |
| Tidal River | 8119 | 1:40,000 | 14-Jan-81 | B&W |
| Torquay | 7721 | 1:25,000 | 19-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Tresthan | 7723 | 1:25,000 | 12-Oct-81 | B&W |
| Walhalla | 8122 | 1:50,000 | 12-Mar-80 | B&W |
| Wangaratta | 8125 | 1:25,000 | 22-Sep-82 | B&W |
| Warracknabeal | 7325 | 1:25,000 | 23-Mar-81 | B&W |
| Warrnambool | 7321 | 1:25,000 | 14-Dec-88 | Colour |
| Warragul | 8021 | 1:25,000 | 02-Oct-79 | B&W |
| Whitfield | 8124 | 1:50,000 | 07-Apr-82 | B&W |
| Winchelsea | 7621 | 1:25,000 | 10-Mar-83 | B&W |
| Wodonga | 8225 | 1:25,000 | 24-Oct-91 | Colour |
| Wodonga | 8225 | 1:25,000 | 22-Sep-82 | B&W |
| Wonthaggi | 8020 | 1:25,000 | 14-Dec-79 | B&W |
| Woodend | 7823 | 1:25,000 | 06-Feb-84 | B&W |
| Yallourn Nth. | 8121 | 1:40,000 | 06-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Yallourn | 8121 | 1:40,000 | 06-Feb-82 | B&W |
| Yarragon | 8121 | 1:25,000 | 14-Oct-91 | Colour |
| Yarram | 8220 | 1:25,000 | 02-Feb-91 | Colour |
| Yarrawonga | 8125 | 1:25,000 | 22-Sep-82 | B&W |
| Yea | 7923 | 1:25,000 | 24-Dec-89 | Colour |
| Yea | 7923 | 1:25,000 | 24-Dec-89 | Colour |
Earth observation data
There are many excellent sources of aerial photography, some are free others are subscription based.
- Digital Earth AustraliaEarth observation satellite data. It will track changes across Australia in unprecedented detail, identifying soil and coastal erosion, crop growth, water quality, and changes to cities and regions.
- Copernicus Australasia Regional Data HubEuropean Copernicus Programme. Provides free, open, trusted and reliable access to Sentinel satellite data for Australasia, South-East Asia, the South Pacific, the Indian Ocean.
- CopernicusProvides complete, free and open access to Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2 and Sentinel-3 user products, starting from the In-Orbit Commissioning Review (IOCR).
- Google Earth virtual globe interfaceView maps of the world and find local businesses on an internet web browser.
- Google Earth Pro
You'll need to download and install a small interface but you get the benefit of a DEM (Digital Elevation Model) under the imagery. - Microsoft BING mapsAn API browser mapper from Microsoft. Different imagery from Google maps and some times more detailed.
- AGRI: The Australian Geographic Reference ImageAGRI, a national mosaic which provides a spatially correct reference image at a 2.5 metre resolution across Australia developed July 2009 - June 2011.
- Resources for Planet usersFree and open tools for integration into spatial apps
