Books on environmental law in Australia are generally at KN 94 K1. Books on Australian climate change law are generally located at KN 95 K1.
Environmental law in Australia by
Third edition of a textbook for lawyers, students and environmentalists, which has been completely rewritten and reorganised to reflect the continually changing law systems and values adopted by governments. New topics include sustainable development, corporate polluters, and environmental auditing with its subsequent ramifications for insurance companies. Includes tables of cases and statutes and a detailed index.
Environmental law in Australia by
Third edition of a textbook for lawyers, students and environmentalists, which has been completely rewritten and reorganised to reflect the continually changing law systems and values adopted by governments. New topics include sustainable development, corporate polluters, and environmental auditing with its subsequent ramifications for insurance companies. Includes tables of cases and statutes and a detailed index.
Climate change, forests and federalism : Australian experience by
Climate change is one of the most serious global challenges facing humankind. Climate change has enormous environmental and economic implications, and finding a solution is a daunting task. The purpose of this book is to look at the global problem of climate change through the prism of an individual country's attempt to tackle this problem. This book begins with a discussion of the origins of climate change and the evolution of the international response to climate change. Key climate change mitigation actions and policies are considered to provide the necessary framework for analysing Australia's approach to climate change. Australia's climate change policy development is considered from a historical perspective. The book traces the evolution of the response to climate change, focusing on Australia as one of the Federal countries unable to adequately reduce greenhouse gas emissions due to the systematic failure of the Australian government to develop a common and effective approach to the problem of climate change. The book will be of interest to scholars and students of environmental law and the contemporary International and Australian climate change law.
Environmental Law by
Environmental Law Second Edition equips readers with the tools to understand environmental law in Australia. Taking an innovative and interdisciplinary approach, it explores the rapid changes that law and policy in this area have gone through: to encompass broader notions of environment and awider range of environmental actors; to embrace knowledge from other disciplines; to employ diverse and innovative regulatory approaches; to expand coverage to international as well as national and local issues, and to integrate with law and policy in other regulatory fields.The influence of these trends means that environmental law can no longer be understood, researched or practiced as a self-contained disciplinary area focused on the application of traditional legal remedies to discrete environmental problems. Rather, the area now encompasses broader, multiplenotions of environment, embraces knowledge from other disciplines, employs a diverse and innovative range of regulatory approaches, covers international as well as national and local issues, and is integrated into the policy and legal landscapes of various regulatory fields, including economicdevelopment and trade.
Environmental law by
Environmental Law Second Edition equips readers with the tools to understand environmental law in Australia. Taking an innovative and interdisciplinary approach, it explores the rapid changes that law and policy in this area have gone through: to encompass broader notions of environment and awider range of environmental actors; to embrace knowledge from other disciplines; to employ diverse and innovative regulatory approaches; to expand coverage to international as well as national and local issues, and to integrate with law and policy in other regulatory fields.The influence of these trends means that environmental law can no longer be understood, researched or practiced as a self-contained disciplinary area focused on the application of traditional legal remedies to discrete environmental problems. Rather, the area now encompasses broader, multiplenotions of environment, embraces knowledge from other disciplines, employs a diverse and innovative range of regulatory approaches, covers international as well as national and local issues, and is integrated into the policy and legal landscapes of various regulatory fields, including economicdevelopment and trade.
Safety, security, health and environment law by
Safety, Security, Health and Environment Law is a fully revised and restructured third edition of Michael Tooma's ground-breaking integrated approach to the law and practice of work health and safety, security and environment management.This new edition builds on the discussion in the previous editions of the synergies between the regulation of and approaches to safety, security, health and the environment. It considers in detail the legislative treatment of these areas across State, Territory and federal jurisdictions in light of the harmonisation of modern work health and safety laws. This discussion is preceded by an overview of the historical and international context leading to the development of the laws.This edition has been made more user-friendly by devoting individual chapters to safety, security and health duties. Each chapter provides a comprehensive discussion of the legal duties of a person conducting a business or undertaking, including suppliers, designers, controllers, installers, as well as workers. Useful Australian and international case studies are provided throughout the book.
Understanding sustainability law by
Sustainability regulation addresses the balance between sustaining ecosystems and economic growth. This book examines key regulation in Australia designed to control sustainability-related processes and objectives, implemented in response to unprecedented ecosystem changes, food security risks, water scarcity and soaring energy costs.
The Tasmanian Dam Case 30 years on : an enduring legacy by
In one of the great contests between State and federal power, the Tasmanian Dam Case pitted the immovable object of Tasmania's commitment to a massive hydro-electric project against the irresistible force of the Commonwealth's determination to protect the environment. Was it more important to create jobs and provide cheap power, or to preserve the natural beauty of the Tasmanian wilderness? On whom did the Australian Constitution confer the power to decide this question? By the narrowest of majorities, the High Court decided in 1983 that the Commonwealth had the final say, and upheld legislation that prohibited the construction of a dam on the Gordon River below the Franklin. This book brings together a fascinating collection of commentaries on the impact of the decision, and how the hopes and fears following the decision have played out.This stimulating and timely book contains reflections from then Commonwealth Attorney-General Gareth Evans, then High Court Justice Sir Anthony Mason and leading Indigenous lawyer Professor Mick Dodson. The book also examines some novel questions, such as whether the outcome of the case was inevitable, how similar issues have played out in Canada, and whether better conservation outcomes are more likely to come from the Commonwealth or the States. These and other chapters offer fresh perspectives on one of the most important cases in High Court history.
Climate change litigation : regulatory pathways to cleaner energy by
This examination of the role of litigation in addressing the problem of climate change focuses not only on how the massive and growing number of lawsuits influences regulation directly, but also on how the lawsuits shape corporate behaviour and public opinion. It provides readers with an understanding of how these lawsuits have shaped approaches to mitigation and adaptation, and have been used to try to force and to block regulation. There is a particular emphasis on lawsuits in the United States and Australia, the two jurisdictions which have had the most climate change litigation in the world, and the lessons provide broader insights into the role of courts in addressing climate change.
Australian Climate Law in Global Context by
Australian Climate Law in Global Context is an engaging and comprehensive guide to current climate change law in Australia and internationally. It includes discussion of: * emission trading schemes and carbon pricing laws * laws on renewable energy, biosequestration, carbon capture and storage, and energy efficiency * the trading of emission offsets between developed and developing countries * the new international scheme for the protection of forests (REDD) and the transfer of green finance and technology from developed to developing states * the adaptation to climate change through legal frameworks. The book assesses the international climate change regime from a legal perspective, focusing on Australia's unique circumstances and its domestic implementation of climate-related treaties. It considers how the challenge of climate change should be integrated into broader environmental law and management. It is a valuable resource for students in law and environmental science, for current and future legal practitioners and for policy-makers and those in the commercial sector.
Australian Climate Law in Global Context by
Australian Climate Law in Global Context is a comprehensive guide to current climate change law in Australia and internationally. It includes discussion of: emission trading schemes and carbon pricing laws, laws on renewable energy, biosequestration, carbon capture and storage and energy efficiency; the trading of emission offsets between developed and developing countries, the new international scheme for the protection of forests (REDD) and the transfer of green finance and technology from developed to developing states, the adaptation to climate change through legal frameworks. It assesses the international climate change regime from a legal perspective, focusing on Australia's unique circumstances and its domestic implementation of climate-related treaties. It considers how the challenge of climate change should be integrated into broader environmental law and management. It is a valuable resource for students in law and environmental science, for current and future legal practitioners and for policy-makers and those in the commercial sector.