Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Apps and Mobile Sites

Reference Apps

Australian Oxford Dictionary
This flagship dictionary draws on the databases of Australian English at the Australian National Dictionary Centre – including its fast-growing national corpus and its research into Australian English, as well as the resources of the incomparable Oxford English Dictionary

Price: Paid Devices: iPhone, iPad

Dictionary.com
The free Dictionary.com app delivers trusted reference content from Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. No Internet connection is needed to search words. The app includes nearly 2,000,000 words, definitions, synonyms and antonyms. It also features audio pronunciation, voice-to-text search and Dictionary.com’s popular Word of the Day and Hot Word blog.

Price: Free  Devices: iPhone, iPod touch and iPad | Android | Blackberry

Wikipedia Mobile
Wikipedia is the free encyclopedia containing more than 20 million articles in 280 languages, and is the most comprehensive and widely used reference work humans have ever compiled.

Price: Free  Devices: iPhone, iPod touch, iPad | Android

Herald Sun
The Herald Sun and Sunday Herald Sun's award-winning coverage of Victoria, the nation and the world comes to life as never before, with the day's best pictures shown in vivid full-screen detail, and videos optimised for viewing on the iPad's screen.

Price: Free  Devices: iPad

  

MyEnvironment
From the Australian Government, find the Australian environmental places and species that make up your neighbourhood or area of interest. MyEnvironment uses the GPS to show assets around you. See the heritage places, wetlands, protected species, protected areas, weeds and invasive species near you. Drill down to see photos and location maps of environmental places and species. Add recoreds to your favourites list for later viewing. Search for places using the map or address search.

Price: Free  Devices: iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.                  

2012 World Factbook
The World Factbook is the reliable and extremely popular source of information on all the nations of the world.
It provides up-to-date, valuable data for more than 250 countries and territories in a concise, well-organized format whenever and wherever you want.

Price: Paid  Devices: iPhone, iPod touch, iPad | Android

Science Glossary by Visionlearning Inc.
The Science Glossary @ Visionlearning is an application for the iPhone or iTouch that provides easy access to our extensive, bilingual glossary developed as a supplement to our online modules. The Glossary includes definitions for several hundred scientific terms and mini-biographies of dozens of key scientific figures.

Price: Free  Devices: iPhone, iTouch