Booking media collections and kits
Academics can book materials to be used in teaching for specific future dates.
To organise this please contact Fransie at fnaude@unimelb.edu.au . For more information regarding bookings or the types of media available refer to the Media Collections for Education library guide.
More search tips
Search the catalogue by Title, Author or the Subject link. use the drop menus to sort results by date, title, author and location (Giblin Eunson Library). Try these Subject Headings:
Booking media resources & Media collections guide
Academics can book education kits and DVDs to use in teaching. To organise, please contact Fransie at fnaude@unimelb.edu.au
Viewing...
Requests for streamed media and DVD's
Free-to-air programs for your courses To order Australian TV programs for the collection and for your teaching, on disc or as digital file; contact Collection Development
Booking existing media items Academics wishing to use and book media items for teaching; contact fnaude@unimelb.edu.au
Media format conversion and reproduction To request conversion to another format; see Media format conversion and reproduction on the LearningEnvironments website
Digital teaching resources - pamphlets
For more information about the digital teaching resources available refer to the pamphlets below, which also provide instructions for accessing the resources from the library website.
Library Catalogue Search
Featured streamed media and videorecordings
Streamed video for the classroom
Streamed videos from the Library can be incorporated into your lessons during placement or used for your own learning. The videos play immediately and are accessible 24/7
How to find streamed videos
-
Search the Library catalogue and limit results to online videos
-
Alternatively, search these databases for streamed videos:
- Kanopy This platform provides diverse streamed video content including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases from leading distributors and film-makers. It includes content suitable for K-12 lessons and teacher education development resources.
- Education in Video (Alexander Street Press) is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Alexander Street Video offers video, audio and text-based resources covering an extensive range of subjects. This site allows users to cross-search the content purchased by the University of Melbourne Library (including Education in Video).
- EduTV provides access to broadcast programs from free-to-air and pay TV channels in Australia.
New to streaming media?
Want to know how to create short clips for your classroom?
Ice breakers...
We have sign posts to help!
Browse the shelves by Subject Headings to find content quickly!
Library catalogue search for curriculum resources
Enter your topic keywords. You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection, Picture Books, Junior fiction collection or Kits collection.
Note: the Junior fiction collection is aimed at readers ages 8-18 - select this option if you want to find Young Adult fiction
Instructions for creating Media & Curriculum resources tabs
Some Guidelines
- The preferred tab description is Media & Curriculum Resources
- We think 3 columns work well for this page and offer the opportunity to incorporate relevant images.
- Include the following linked boxes as a consistent starting point
- Where can I find the Curriculum and Media Collections?
- Library Catalogue: Search for Curriculum resources
- Streamed media for the classroom and your studies
- Booking media resources & Media Collections guide
Literacy and numeracy...
Featured streamed geography videos
Hungry Tides (click image to view video)
The following selection of streamed videos can either be integrated within lessons in different subject areas or used to contribute toward professional development for humanities teachers.
Other new Geography streaming videos
Where to find the curriculum and media collections
The Education Curriculum and Media Collections can be found on Level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.
Discover a range of resources to support your assessment tasks and placements: 3D-objects, models, toys, games, big books, board books, picture books, young adult fiction, DVDs, CDs, charts, pictures and multi-piece sets.
This guide also features streamed videos and digital resources you can access online and use within your teaching.
Our world and ourselves...
Interaction in the classroom...
Posters and charts...
Puppets from the Kit Collection
Featured streamed history videos
Life in the Middle Ages: The Noble (click image to view video)
The following selection of streamed videos can either be integrated within lessons in different subject areas or used to contribute toward professional development for humanities teachers.
Other new History streaming videos
An expanded list of History videos aligned to VELS curriculum areas can be found here
Featured streamed science videos
Size Matters (click image to view video)
The following selection of streamed videos can either be integrated within lessons in different subject areas or used to contribute toward professional development for science teachers.
Other new Science steaming videos
An expanded list of Science titles aligned to VELS curriculum areas can be found here.
Make music...
Listening...
Higher Education Search Tools
Use these databases to find articles and other types of sources on higher education and vocational education topics.
- VOCEDplus (NCVER)VOCEDplus is a free research database for tertiary education, international in scope. It encompasses vocational education and training (VET), higher education, adult and community education, informal learning, and VET in Schools and relates to workforce needs, skills development and social inclusion.
- World Higher Education Database (International Association of Universities)The World Higher Education database helps with finding information about the HE systems of 184 countries. Search by institution, country, or field of study. This is a free resource.
Robotics kits for learning activities
The library provides access to a small range of robotics kits for use in the classroom. To facilitate equitable access to the robotics kits, please contact Fransie Naude stating the title, call number and planned teaching date.
Robotics kits
- Bee-Bot: programmable floor robot/ TTS Group Ltd./ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 BEEB Bee-Bot's simple and child friendly layout is a perfect starting point for teaching control, directional language and programming. With a wide range of cross curricular mats to program with, and fun accessories to personalise, Bee-Bot is the must have programming resource for any KS1 classroom. Bee-Bot can accurately move in steps of 15cm, turn in 90° turns, and remembers up to 40 steps! Bee-Bot features include: Sounds and flashing eyes confirm your instructions. Memory of up to 40 steps For ages 3+
- Dash robot/ Wonder Workshop/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 688.725 DASH Dash is a real robot, charged and ready to play out of the box. Responding to voice, navigating objects, dancing, and singing, Dash is the robot you always dreamed of having. Use Wonder, Blockly, and other apps to create new behaviors for Dash - doing more with robotics than ever possible. For ages 6+
- Ozobot bit classroom kit/ Ozobot, Evollve/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 OZOB Ozobot bits are tiny robots. This kit is designed for any grade K-12. Supporting apps, flexible programming environment and lesson plans make it easy to integrate Ozobots into any curriculum - STEM and beyond.