Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Australian Education

This guide provides an overview of sources relevant to the history of education in Victoria and Australia.

Organisations, Associations and Networks

Colored picture of the book Beauty and The beast 1874Beauty &Be the beas

Beauty and the Beast toy, book, 1874, illustrated by Walter Crane - State Library of Victoria

  • State Library of Victoria- Children's Book Collection  "The Library has children’s books published between the 16th and 21st century, reflecting patterns of childhood reading over five hundred years. The earliest children’s book held is The Scholemaster by Roger Ascham, former schoolmaster to the young Queen Elizabeth I, and subsequently published under her patronage in 1571."
  • Public Record Office Victoria  a number of the readers in the VPRS 13554 Ministerial Textbook Collection. Within this series you can find teacher curriculum books for use in State Schools. From consignments P1-P27, the units contain text books covering such subjects as: Science, History, Mathematics, Geography, English, Language, Religious, Social Studies, Readers, Spelling and Writing, Story books, Domestic Arts, Nursery Collections and Music.

University of Melbourne Archives

Black and white image 3 female students from 1910 outside law quadrangle

Entrance to the Quadrangle. University of Melbourne. c1910 .This image is provided for research purposes and must not be reproduced without prior permission of University of Melbourne Archives. For information about ordering a copy of this image contact the University of Melbourne Archives: archives@archives.unimelb.edu.au

The University Archives has a number of primary sources that can assist researchers. These include minutes, lecture notes, examiners reports on theses, class lists and other source material.