Media & curriculum resources - Drama & Theatre - Arts Education - Library Guides at University of Melbourne

Where can I find the Curriculum & Media Collections?

The Education Curriculum and Media Collections can be found on Level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.

Discover a range of resources to support teaching: 3D-objects, models, toys, games, big books, board books, picture books, young adult fiction, DVDs, CDs, charts, pictures and multi-piece sets.

Library Catalogue : Search for curriculum resources

Enter your topic keywords. You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection or Kits collection.

Streamed media for the classroom and your studies

Can't get to the library while on teaching rounds?

Incorporate streamed videos into your lessons or use them for your own professional development.

Find streamed videos on-line using the library catalogue or a database, they are accessible 24/7 and play immediately!

Search these databases for streamed videos:

Kanopy
Includes Australian content
more...less...
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos. Explore the catalog of over 20,000 videos from the world’s most prominent filmmakers and production houses. -- Kanopy

Specially curated collections cover a wide range educational disciplines including literacy, mathematics, history and issues in society.

Kanopy also offers a hosting service allowing for DVDs to be uploaded and streamed online provided digital rights is obtained.

Kanopy offers a large range of Australian content and videos can be searched using the library catalogue.
Education in Video
more...less...
Education in Video is a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Finding relevant content:
-Resources can be browsed by categories such as: Educators and experts; Educational topics; and Grade levels.

-You can also search for specific content via the video transcripts using keywords. This option allows you to skip directly to sections of the video and transcript that contain references to your keyword(s).
Alexander Street Video
more...less...
With Alexander Street Video, users can do a single search across all the Alexander Street video in the library.

On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow).

Individual discipline collections include education, history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. -- Alexander Street Video

Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Brecht's Berliner Ensemble.

Dance in video
more...less...
Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles. The Library has access to volumes I & II of Dance in Video.

Streamed videos for Drama and Theatre studies

Secondary creative arts
more...less...
Colin Jackson, City of York drama consultant introduces three resources for secondary creative arts.
Drama teacher Nikki Stoker tries out the Trestle Theatre Company's Basic Mask Set, with accompanying teacher pack, at the Beaumont School in St. Albans.
Teacher Tina Wright and her class at Burnholme Community College in York have tried out a new theatre/school partnership scheme, allowing pupils to go behind the scenes of theatrical productions. -- Alexander Street video
Making Drama
more...less...
Focusing on the creative process with regard to producing a theatrical performance and using video, this video also explores how to teach students about shooting and editing video to scaffold students development of critical and observation skills.
Drama into the curriculum
more...less...
This video explores the idea that by incorporating drama skills into their lessons teachers are helping students to develop their kinaesthetic, inter- and intra-personal and language skills.
Reading, writing and role play
more...less...
This video explores the way that role play, freeze-framing and dramatising stories and characters from real books can be used to scaffold children's ability to write, speak and develop their ability to infer meaning from texts.
EAL in Drama and Music
more...less...
This video explores an after school project with students who have English as an Additional Language. The aim of the program is to teach English by embedding it in music.
Reading, Writing and Role-Play
more...less...
One city, eight weeks and two contrasting schools come together to put on a professional production of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. In a unique experiment, each school will be cast as one of the two feuding families at the heart of the world's favourite love story.-- Kanopy
Macbeth
A Midsummer Night's Dream