Evidence Based Databases
- SpeechBITESpeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice
- Cochrane Library (Wiley)The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. They are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About The Cochrane Collaboration.
- Joanna Briggs Institute(JBI COnNECT+) Clinical Online Network of Evidence for Care and Therapeutics.
- PubMed Clinical Queries (NCBI) This link opens in a new windowSystematic reviews, clinical studies and medical genetics are extrapolated from the PubMed platform.
- OTseeker(Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence) is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
- BMJ Best PracticeBMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
- Trip DatabaseClinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to identify clinical evidence for clinical practice.
- American Speech Hearing Association - EBPCollates resources in Evidence Based Practice including the steps involved in EBP
Evidence Based Resources
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119536604Publication Date: 2019
Useful Resources
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 9781118801116Publication Date: 2014-02-26The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by ISBN: 9780729541350Publication Date: 2013-08-21
