Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LaTeX and BibTeX

Designed for University of Melbourne staff and students on the various methods of reference management within LaTeX documents. The basics of a LaTeX bibliography is explained with reference to more popular editors such as Overleaf

Referencing in LaTeX

Referencing in LaTeX

To create a reference list and cite in a LaTeX document:

  1. Create a .bib file
  • ‚ÄčThis can either be created from scratch, or an easier method is to use a reference manager to create a .bib file. Each reference manager has a slightly different process, but these can be found for the most popular managers within this LibGuide. 
  1. Add citation place holders (also known as citation keys)
  2. Compile document through packages

Inserting citations and a reference list in LaTeX

Inserting citations and a reference list in LaTeX

Create a .bib file

Create a .bib file 

This is a simple .bib file of a basic book:

@Book{Dummy:1,
author = "John Doe",
title = "Untitled Book",
publisher = "Dummy Publisher",
year = 2019,
}

Use BibTeX

Use BibTeX

Once you've created a BibTeX file, we need to tell our LaTeX document where to find with bibliographic database. To do this we need the commands \bibliography (which tells LaTeX where the .bib file is located) and \bibliographystyle (which selects the appropriate bibliography style we need). 

\documentclass{article}

\begin{document}

Type your text here. This text requires a citation \cite{Dummy:1} to embed the citation in the required position in the text.

\newpage

\bibliography{name of .bib file}

\bibliographystyle{ieeetr}

\end document

It will look something like this:

Type your text here. This text requires a citation [1] to embed the citation in the required position in the text.

References

[1] J. Doe, Untitled Book. Dummy publisher, 2019.