Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LaTeX and BibTeX

Designed for University of Melbourne staff and students on the various methods of reference management within LaTeX documents. The basics of a LaTeX bibliography is explained with reference to more popular editors such as Overleaf

Referencing Styles for LaTeX

Referencing Styles for LaTeX

The below are a few examples of different bibliographic style commands within LaTeX. If these do not suit or you would like to explore other options, CTAN.org is the official LaTeX archive containing official and user generated packages and items (including many more bibliographic styles). 

Care needs to be taken with user contributed styles as they may not match the style name exactly. Many are slightly different based on a contributors need. Test any non-journal style by using it with a large BibTeX database and compare the resulting bibliography to the official style. 

In-Built Bibliography Styles

In-Built Bibliography styles

The following two commands are used to create bibliography/reference list:

\bibliographystyle{StyleType}

\bibliography{BibTexFileName}

The in-built bibliography styles in LaTeX include:

 

Natbib package

Natbib package

Although the seven built-in bibliography styles work, they can often be clunky to use and change between. 

Through the use of the Natbib package in the preamble, further styles are possible. These include (but are not limited to):

Citation commands in Natbib

Citation commands in Natbib

Through the use of the Natbib package and associated styles, users have more control over citation within their LaTeX document.