Step by Step Guide to eBooks
- Step by StepThis guide has step by step instructions to accessing eBooks
Study
Exam Success by
'Sound advice for any student who wants to develop a systematic approach to their exam preparation, from motivation and confidence building to learning principles and memory techniques' - Careerscope, Autumn 2005 Doing well in exams at university is crucial to gaining a good degree. From the author of Studying at University, this new guide will equip students with all the tools they need to optimise their performance in exams. Packed with examples and practical exercises, the book explains key strategies for learning and revision. David McIlroy tackles problems ranging from confidence and motivation to anxiety control, to help develop the personal qualities which are vital for success. For anyone unsure why past exam results have not reflected their abilities, the book helps pinpoint strengths and weaknesses, and gives advice on how to improve performance. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university.
Make It Stick by
Drawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Studying and Learning at University by
Studying and Learning at University provides a concise and accessible introduction to the essential study skills for first-time undergraduates. Alan Pritchard focuses on the skills that every student will need to master to achieve success in their academic career. Practical, straight-forward advice is provided on subjects such as how to: approach learning use active reading techniques use computers and the internet to support academic study prepare for written assessment prepare and deliver presentations. This guide is essential reading for anyone new to study at undergraduate level. Students setting out on any undergraduate course will welcome the support and guideance provided here. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Studying at University by
`An astute compilation of the university experience, made easily accessible to the reader, and lightened by the ability of a good storyteller. Within the book are tools to maximise and manage one's learning opportunities both in terms of objective skills and subjective psychological experiences, e.g., stress and anxiety. This is a book that has the potential to be useful throughout one's studies and to transform the university experience' - Brendan Bunting, Reader in Psychology, University of Ulster For those attending university for the first time, the demands made on them academically and socially can seem daunting. Studying at University aims to equip the student with strategies for making the most out of the experience from the moment they arrive until after they leave. Written with fresh insight for the contemporary student, the book addresses key issues such as: - adjusting to life at university - making presentations - working in small groups - library and computer resources - making the most from lectures and seminars - basic numeracy and statistics Studying at University also presents the student with new ways of learning. The author suggests ways of developing memory techniques as an aid for not just exams, but so that the student can reap the best rewards from the subject matter in hand. Ways of coping with exam and test anxieties are addressed, and a final section looks at preparing for job interviews after university life. Packed with illustrative material and practical exercises, Studying at University aims to enable the student to perform at their very best academically, and will be of value to all undergraduate students across the social sciences and humanities.
Critical Thinking
Critical Thinking Across the Curriculum by
Consider that many of the people who are alive today will be working at jobs that do not currently exist and that the explosion of information means that today's knowledge will quickly become outdated. As a result, two goals for education clearly emerge -- learning how to learn and how to think critically about information that changes at a rapid rate. We face a multitude of new challenges to our natural environment, difficult dilemmas concerning the use of weapons of mass destruction, political agendas for the distribution of scarce commodities and wealth, psychological problems of loneliness and depression, escalating violence, and an expanding elderly population. International in scope and in magnitude, these new problems strain resources and threaten the continuance of life on earth. To creatively and effectively attack these imminent problems, a well educated, thinking populace is essential. An abridged edition of Halpern's best-selling text, Critical Thinking Across the Curriculum is designed to help students enhance their thinking skills in every class. The skills discussed are needed in every academic area and setting -- both in and out of class. They are: determining cause; assessing likelihood and uncertainty; comprehending complex text; solving novel problems; making good decisions; evaluating claims and evidence; and thinking creatively. In this adaptation of her best-selling text, Diane Halpern applies the theories and research of cognitive psychology to the development of critical thinking and learning skills needed in the increasingly complex world in which we work and live. The book is distinguished by its clear writing style, humorous tone, many practical examples and anecdotes, and rigorous academic grounding. Everyday examples and exercises promote the transfer of critical thinking skills and dispositions to real-world settings and problems. The goal is to help readers recognize when and how to apply the thinking skills needed to analyze arguments, reason clearly, identify and solve problems, and make sound decisions. Also of importance, a general thinking skills framework ties the chapters together, but each is written so that it can "stand alone." This organization allows for maximum flexibility in the selection of topics and the order in which they are covered. This book is intended for use in any course emphasizing critical thinking as an approach to excellence in thinking and learning.
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Thinking in Higher Education by
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Thinking in Higher Education provides a single compendium on the nature, function, and applications of critical thinking. This book brings together the work of top researchers on critical thinking worldwide, covering questions of definition, pedagogy, curriculum, assessment, research, policy, and application.
Moving from What to What If? by
This practical book outlines how you can challenge students to grapple with complex problems and engage more meaningfully with information across the content areas, rather than rely solely on rote memorization and standardized testing to measure academic success. Author John Barell shares vignettes from effective middle and high school teachers around the country, analyzes what works and what doesn't when encouraging students to dig deeper, and offers practical strategies that you can try in your own classroom. Topics include: Guiding students to hone their skills in abstract reasoning, inquiry, creative problem solving, and critical thinking; Designing your lessons and units for authentic achievement, to prepare students for success in their future careers and academic pursuits; Using rigorous benchmark assessments to analyze students' progress in meaningful ways; and Encouraging students to set learning goals and drive their own achievement. Aligned with the Common Core and other standards, this book will help you teach students to become inquisitive, engaged citizens who wonder about the universe, stretch their imaginations, and solve problems by asking, What If?
Further Help
Email: vetsci-lib@unimelb.edu.au
Werribee Campus Library
Ph: 9731 2331
Contact: Tania Celeste
Parkville Campus Library:
Ph: 9035 5511
Contact: Vesna Birkic
Why Use Databases?
|
Discovery is the gateway to tens of thousands of electronic journals, hundreds of scholarly databases and other resources subscribed to by the University of Melbourne Library. Discovery also enables users to search across multiple databases simultaneously, browse resources and link through to the full-text or print copy. If you need to conduct a more thorough and advanced search then search individual databases. Keywords
Why do I need keywords? by Albatross http://Pixton.com/ic:nzxku0j0 |
Databases
AGRICOLA (ProQuest Central)
This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
CAB Abstracts
Available via -Cab Abstracts (CABI Digital Library) OR CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
Access to applied life sciences literature, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition. International coverage. Covers 1910 up to the present.
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
AgriBusiness
ABI/INFORM (Proquest Central)
This database comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. It features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
AgEcon Search Research in Agricultural & Applied Economics
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: Working papers Conference papers Journal articles.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a full text database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
DatAnalysis Premium
Provides data on company history and listing details since 1989, as well as corporate records, with access to access other information such as price-sensitive measures to keep track of a company’s performance.
MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage is an interactive platform providing access to a mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. From Aerospace and Automotive to Media, Mining and Textiles,