Skip to main content

Introduction to Legal Research

This guide is an introduction to legal research at the University of Melbourne. This guide is intended for law students in the JD, MLM , Breadth programs who are new to legal research. Students in other disciplines who may need to conduct legal research

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles provide scholarly opinion and analysis on specific aspects of the law. Journal articles are also very helpful in pointing you towards relevant primary sources, such as key cases or legislation, as well as other secondary sources.

Check out the journal articles section of our Secondary Sources for Legal Research Guide and have a go at the quizzes below. 

The Law Library's guide on Secondary Sources has tips for finding a journal article by citation. Read the information in this guide and test your knowledge.  

If you are searching for journal articles by topic, use journal databases. The Law Library website includes a selection of databases to find journal articles.  

Using these databases you can search multiple journals at once. Not all journal databases contain the full text of the articles. Some databases are indexes only. Indexes contain a summary (abstracts) of an article and its citation, but not the full text. If you are using a journal index, there will be an extra step involved in locating the full text – either in print or online. Many databases will connect you to the full text online via the 'Find it @ UniMelb' link.