Library Guides: Contemporary Music: Contemporary Art Music

Tips for finding articles

Online Databases:

Discovery cross-searches a large number of databases. Use the Advanced Search for the best results.
Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases.
Google Scholar is a convenient search tool but you need to set up your Google Scholar preferences to search effectively. When linked, Google Scholar will display Find It@UniMelb links next to articles that are available online.

The most relevant subject-specific databases and journals are listed below.

Online version not available? Print journals are listed in the Library Catalogue.
If you know the name of the database or journal you want, you can search directly in individual databases or journals.
Staff and students may request document delivery through interlibrary loans.

Use the BrowZine app to follow journals and get notifications on new issues and published articles.

Journals and Magazines - Contemporary Art Music

Our collections include many journals and magazines relevant to the study of Contemporary Art Music. They range from popular magazines, to trade publications, and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. While scholarly, peer-reviewed journals are preferred in University research, popular magazines often feature useful content like interviews, and reviews.

The list below is in no way exhaustive, and more can be found by searching in our catalogue, or databases. For comprehensive tips on searching for journal articles, please visit the Research Essentials guide.

Contemporary Music Review
A scholarly journal that covers composition today - its techniques, aesthetics, technology and its relationship to other disciplines and current thought.
Journal of New Music Research
A scholarly journal that discusses developments in New Music, including instrumental and electronic music, computer, interactive and multimedia systems, music-related DSP, psychoacoustics, and related topics such as music perception and music history.
Leonardo Music Journal
A scholarly journal from MIT features research in new music, multimedia art, sound science & technology.
Music Analysis
A scholarly journal featuring new writing focused on musical works and repertoires, including analysis of twentieth, and twenty-first century works.
Music Theory Online
A scholarly journal that contains articles, commentaries on articles from previous issues, reviews, and essays all related to the field of professional music theory. Includes significant studies in recent music.
Perspectives of New Music
A scholarly journal that publishes interviews, analyses, technical reports, position papers by composers, sociological and philosophical articles relating to contemporary music.
Tempo
A scholarly journal, often illustrated with music examples, exploring many aspects of the work of contemporary composers throughout the world.
Twentieth-Century Music
A scholarly journal that explores Western art music, music from non-Western traditions, popular music, film music, jazz, improvised music and performance practice.

Useful Subject Headings

Subject Headings are used in our Catalogue to group similarly themed material, like tags. It can be useful to search for Subject Headings to find multiple results grouped by topic. Below are some useful headings, but more can be found by searching the catalogue, using a Subject Search. The Subject Headings listed below can be modified or truncated to include other types of resources, not just periodicals.