Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Options for managing references

What is a citation generator?

If you are writing a short paper, you may not need a full reference management software application.

  1. A citation generator can speed up the process of creating a reference for bibliography or reference list, allowing you to copy and paste these into your assignment, but they don't do all of the work.
  2. The first step is make sure the citation generator offers the referencing style you need, as some of the styles used at the University of Melbourne may not be covered.
  3. Once you have created the reference, you always need to cross check it, against the formatting requirements listed for the style in Re:cite to confirm everything is correct before you submit the assignment. Often references may need some quick fixes, so understanding the style rules and careful proof-reading is essential. For example, you may find that some of the required information is missing or you may need to fix punctuation or correct capitalisation. You will still need to refer to the reference style notes in Re:cite for instructions for creating in-text citations or footnotes. 

Accessing citation generators

  1. Citation generators within Library databases

  2. Other citation generators 

  3. Google Scholar 

Database citation generators

Some databases generate citation details for search results that you can copy and paste into your bibliography. Including

  • EBSCO databases
  • ProQuest databases

Instructions  - EBSCO databases including Discovery

Results from EBSCO databases and Discovery searches provide a 'Cite' button for each item in a results list

1. Click on the title of any result to display the full details.

2. Cick the "Cite" button.

3. A window will open with the reference listed using different citation styles, such as APA, Harvard: Australian, MLA, and Vancouver/ICMJE:

 

Online Citation Generators