How do I find journal articles?
- Discovery is the library's main search tool for journal articles
- You can also access the library catalogue, university digital repository and many databases through Discovery
- It has more search options than Google or Google Scholar
- You can access Discovery via the library homepage
Discovery library guide - Learn how to use the Discovery search tool efficiently
However Discovery does not:
- replace the need for researchers to systematically search the original interfaces of specialist databases.
- include all library subscriptions (not all can be included in Discovery)
Accessing full text journal article content
When you search and locate literature via any of the University of Melbourne subscription databases, you can easily navigate to the full text content by clicking the 'Find it @melbourne' button below or sometimes to the left or the right of the details about the journal article, conference paper, book chapter, etc.
Below we tell you about two important tools or settings that can save you a lot of time.
- University of Melbourne ezProxy BookmarkletWhen you have discovered resources via a general search over the internet, typically you will be asked to subscribe and/or pay a fee to access the full-text content. You can use this bookmarklet to re-direct the web page to go through the Unimelb Library electronic resources gateway, which will then allow you full-text access to the content the Library subscribes to.
- Google Scholar full text preferencesWhen you are using Google Scholar off-campus you should set your preferences so that you can link to full-text content available through the Library
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine for finding scholarly materials on the Internet.
You can access full texts using SourceIt@Melbourne link, which appears next to the title of each article. Although this link appear automatically on campus, you mat not see it when you are off campus.
How to access full texts from a Google Scholar search if you are off campus
1. Log into Google Scholar via the University of Melbourne to access PDFs through the library.
2. Alternatively, set up preferences on Google Scholar to link to the University of Melbourne resources.
- Go to Google Scholar
- Click the Settings link at the top-right of the page.
- Click the Library links option to the left.
- Enter: 'University of Melbourne Library' in the search box and click the search button.
- Tick the checkbox next to the option: 'University of Melbourne Library - SourceIt@Melbourne'.
- Click the 'Save' button.
Useful Library Guides
|
What is Scopus?
Why Scopus?
Useful tools and features of Scopus
|
- A multidisciplinary database with strong international coverage
- Subject areas: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities
Useful tools and features of Web of Science
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - to compare and analyse journal impact factors
- As Web of Science is from the same company as EndNote, the process of exporting citations is quite straight forward
- View the cited by numbers
- Can create 'Search Alerts' to receive an email alert whenever new articles are added
Subject Research Guides
To access:
1. Link to "Subject Research Guides" is under the Resources tab in the library home page.
2. Subject specific guides are listed under each faculty. General information can be found under "How to" guides.
|
1) |
2) |
3) |
