Commonwealth Authorised Reports
The authorised report series of the High Court of Australia is the Commonwealth Law Reports:
Westlaw AU - complete series available online (UniMelb staff & student access).
To locate authorised report series from other Commonwealth courts (such as the Federal Court, Administrative Appeals Tribunal and Australian Industrial Relations Commission), see our Authorised Law Reports guide.
Commonwealth Unreported Judgments
The following unreported judgments from Commonwealth courts are available on AustLII:
Other unreported judgments on AustLII include:
Finding matters pending, submissions filed & outcomes in Commonwealth Courts
The Federal Law Search (on the Commonwealth Courts Portal) provides information on cases initiated in the Federal Court of Australia and the Federal Circuit Court of Australia. The database is updated in real time and includes all cases that have commenced since 1 January 1984. The database includes a list of all submissions, and links to full text orders and judgments made throughout the matter. This is a good way to find information on matters still pending. For completed matters, the outcomes are provided - so this is a good resource for finding information about matters which did not proceed because they were settled, withdrawn or otherwise discontinued.
Commonwealth Sentencing Database
The purpose of the Commonwealth Sentencing Database is to provide judicial officers and other users with rapid and easy access to information about sentencing for Commonwealth offences.
High Court Bulletin
The High Court Bulletin is compiled monthly, from February to December, after each Court sitting and contains, as at the date of each issue:
1: CASES HANDED DOWN
2: CASES RESERVED
3: ORIGINAL JURISDICTION
4: SPECIAL LEAVE GRANTED
5: CASES NOT PROCEEDING OR VACATED
6: SPECIAL LEAVE REFUSED
High Court Blog
This blog will provide commentary on and analysis of recent High Court decisions, general information about the Court, as well as marking significant activities and events at the Court. It is a forum for discussion of decisions of the Court and a resource for understanding the operation of the Court.
Recent posts from Opinions on High