Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Australian Case Law

Queensland Authorised Reports


The following are the authorised report series for the Supreme Court of Queensland:

Prior to 1902, the reported decisions of the Supreme Court of Queensland are available on the Queensland Judgments website. Note that these reports are not authorised.These reports are:

Mode of citation

By convention, the authorised report of a judgment is the preferred mode of citation. 

In a number of Queensland courts, this convention has been formalised by a complementary set of Practice Directions:

For more information on the 'authority' of the Queensland Reports, and the rationale for the use of authorised reports in general, see the information on the Queensland Reports website.

The Queensland law Reporter 

The Queensland Law Reporter has been published since 1908 as a weekly supplement to the Queensland Reports.

It is intended to allow the Editors of the Queensland Reports to provide the whole of the legal profession in Queensland with weekly updates of the most significant developments in Queensland statute and case law.

It is also intended for the publication of public notices. The Queensland Law Reporter is the publication approved under r 599(4) of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld) for the purposes of giving notice of intention to apply for a grant of probate or letters of administration under Chapter 15 Part 2. The QLR is also approved under r.12(3)(b) of the Supreme Court (Legal Practitioner Admission) Rules 2004 (Qld), for the purposes of giving notice of intention to apply for admission as a legal practitioner.

Queensland Unreported Judgments


Other decisions of Queensland courts and tribunals can be found in the following databases:

  • AustLII - includes decisions from all courts and tribunals
    • Supreme Court of NSW Moreton Bay Decisions 1851-1859 in html on AustLII. This is an historical database containing edited records of decisions of the Supreme Court of New South Wales handed down prior to 1900. The database is under construction and new decisions will be added in due course.
  • JADE - provides access to unreported judgments from the following courts and tribunals:
    • Supreme Court of Queensland and Court of Appeal
    • Industrial Court Of Queensland
    • Queensland Industrial Relations Commission
    • Queensland Land Court
    • Queensland Magistrates Court
    • District Court of Queensland
    • Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal
    • Queensland Mental Health Court
    • Planning and Environment Court of Queensland
  • Key Decisions Database - key recent judgments from the Supreme Court that have been selected for possible inclusion in the Queensland Reports
  • Queensland Law Reporter - 2012 - current
  • Westlaw AU -  1981 - current
    • includes unreported judgments from Queensland Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of Queensland, Queensland Industrial Relations Commission and District Court of Queensland
  • Queensland Law Journal Reports - in hardcopy in the library, prior to 1902
  • Lexis Advance - contains the following:
    • Queensland Crown Lands Reports - 1864 - 1973
    • Queensland Land Court Reports - 1973 - 1999
    • Queensland Planning and Environment Law Reports - 1982 - current