Library Guides: New Zealand Law: Starting your NZ Legal Research

Background Information about New Zealand

New Zealand is a common law country with a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy. Background information about New Zealand can be found on:

Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade - New Zealand
CIA New Zealand Wold Fact Book
includes country information in 80 topic areas under the main headings of Geography, People and Society, Economy, Energy, Communications, Military & Security, Transportation, and Transnational Issues.

Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Regional Surveys of the World series. The column on the left indicates the regions that are available with your subscription. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe

New Zealand Legal Research Books

Legal research and writing in New Zealand by Margaret Greville, Scott Davidson and Richard Scragg
Call Number: KL 155 L1 GREV
Publication Date: LexisNexis, 2007

New Zealand Legal Research Guide

GlobaLex - New Zealand
Access to New Zealand Law by Margaret Greville
University of Canterbury New Zealand Law LibGuide
Māori Customary Law
Provides information and resources relating to Maori customary law and its place in the New Zealand legal system (Source: The Law Library of Congress).

A great place to start your New Zealand legal research

The Laws of New Zealand
(available on Lexis + Australia) is an encyclopaedic resource and a good starting point for any NZ legal research. It is arranged alphabetically by topic and includes up to date commentary, legislation and cases on each topic.

Latest New Zealand Legal News

Legal news feed from the Global Legal Monitor at the Library of Congress.

Doing business in New Zealand

Doing Business in New Zealand - from the World Bank
(Open Access) Provides statistics and other measures of business regulations and their enforcement for NZ. The 'Law Library' link on the top menu provides a large collection of business laws and regulations, linking to government sites where possible.
International Comparative Legal Guides - New Zealand
(Open Access) Browse this site by practice area and jurisdiction for information about selected topics in New Zealand law.
Lexology
Lexology covers 8 practice areas spanning air transport, anti-corruption legislation, aviation finance and leasing, construction, franchise, licensing, merger control and telecoms & media

Contact Us

If you need assistance finding and using any of the books, journal articles, databases and resources in this guide, please contact a law librarian. You can use the 'Ask a Librarian' chat service for quick questions, or for more in-depth enquiries, please email: Law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au