Skip to Main Content

United Kingdom Law


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the collective name for four countries, England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, which have been united under a single Parliament through a series of Acts of Union. The United Kingdom has recently undergone a period of devolution with the creation of the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Scottish Parliament and the National Assembly for Wales (see separate tabs for information on these specific jurisdictions). 

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy (a government that is established under a constitution but retains a monarch as the head of state). The duties, functions and powers of the monarch are conscribed by convention. The constitution does not exist in a single written document but consists of statute law, case law and parliamentary conventions.

The parliament is bicameral, with the first chamber, the House of Commons, directly elected. The second chamber, the House of Lords, consists of elected hereditary peers, life peers, Law Lords and bishops, most of whom are appointed on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

See further sources below.

United Kingdom Country Information 

The following resources include general country information and statistics - history, demographics, economy, politics and government etc.

A great place to start your legal research

Introduction to the UK Legal System

Print books on the English and UK legal system are shelved at KL 11 on Level 5 of the Law Library. Check the Library catalogue for more print and e-books.

UK Legal Research Books 

Latest UK Legal News from the Inner Temple Library

Daily legal news feed from the Inner Temple Library

Loading ...

Other UK Legal Research Guides

Library Twitter

Library Instagram

Library Blogs

Library Contacts