Finding scholarly journal articles on human rights law
To find academic / scholarly journal articles on human rights law, irrespective of the journal in which they are published, we recommend the following indexing and abstracting databases:
- SSRN eLibraryLegal Scholarship Network on the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) for the most recent multijurisdictional scholarship.
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit)AGIS for Australasian articles on international, regional and domestic human rights law. Coverage is from 1980s to current.
- Westlaw UKLegal Journals Index (LJI) on Westlaw UK - for UK and European articles. Coverage is from 1980s to current.
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsProduced by the American Association of Law Libraries, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
- Gale OneFile: LegalTraca multijurisdictional index of articles in over 1200 journals and law reviews - mainly in UK, US, Canadian and international journals. Full text articles are available for more than 200 journals. Coverage is from 1980s to current.
- HeinOnline~ Law Journal Library on HEINOnline - contains the full text of more than 2,200 legal journals and law reviews. This is an excellent database to use for older material, as coverage is from the first issue of all journals.
~ Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) on HEINOnline. The IFLP database coverage includes records from 1984 to date.
International, Comparative and Global Human Rights Journals
Below is a selection of the human rights law journals held by the Law Library, mostly as e-journals. For others, search the catalogue.
Print and eBooks on international and comparative human rights law
Print books on international human rights law are generally shelved at KC 200. Books on human rights law in a particular country are shelved with the books on that jurisdiction. See the individual country or regional tabs in this guide for books on human rights law in that jurisdiction.
Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Human Dignity and Human Rights by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020
Contesting Human Rights: Norms, Institutions and Practice by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2019
International Human Rights Law: Cases, Materials, Commentary by Call Number: KC 200 SCHUPublication Date: CUP, 3rd ed, 2019
International Human Rights Law and Structural Discrimination : The Example of Violence Against Women by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2019
The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child: A Commentary by Call Number: KC 201 T7 Q11 TOBIPublication Date: 2019
Judging international human rights: courts of general jurisdiction as human rights courts by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2019
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Human Rights Law
- Oxford Bibliographies Onlineprovides encyclopedic entries in annotated bibliographies on a range of International Human Rights Law topics. This was authored by Jessica Almqvist in 2012, so check the catalogue for more recent books and find more recent articles by searching our recommended databases.
Reference & Encyclopaedic Books
Routledge Handbook of Human Trafficking by Call Number: KC 208 ROUTPublication Date: Routledge, 2017
Research Methods in Human Rights: a Handbook by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2017
Routledge Handbook of International Human Rights Law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: Taylor & Francis, 2014
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law by Call Number: E-book. Also in print at KC 200 OXFOPublication Date: OUP, 2013
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law by Call Number: K 126 I5 VEGAPublication Date: Edward Elgar, 2013
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: OUPChoose 'human rights' from the Subject menu to see an alphabetical list of human rights topics.
