Library Guides: Human Rights Law: Databases

Human rights databases

For a list of databases by type (e.g. case law) refer to the database by type list on the law library website.

For databases and platforms with resources on specific aspects of human rights law, refer to specific sections in this guide.

Law Library Database List
Key databases for legal research.

AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
AGIS for Australasian articles on international, regional and domestic human rights law. Coverage is from 1980s to current.
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from business and general interest titles.
HeinOnline
~ Law Journal Library on HeinOnline - contains the full text of more than 2,200 legal journals and law reviews. This is an excellent database to use for older material, as coverage is from the first issue of all journals.
~ Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) on HeinOnline. The IFLP database coverage includes records from 1984 to date.
Human Rights Documents Online (Brill)
Human Rights Documents Online (HRDO) will ultimately contain all human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa in Canada since 1980. These documents emanate from 483 non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, some of which have a universal scope, whilst others focus on the attainment of human rights in a specific area of the world.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in legal journals published worldwide. Provides coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the US, the UK, Canada and Australia. Also analyses the contents of individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Encyclopedic entries on a range of International Human Rights Law topics.
SSRN: Human Rights and Globalisation
SSRN eLibrary
Legal Scholarship Network on the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) for the most recent multijurisdictional scholarship.
Westlaw UK
Westlaw UK gives you access to vast but easily searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials. Includes access to the Legal Journal Index (LJI).

Status of Ratification Interactive Dashboard
United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains information regarding the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs.
UN Treaty Bodies Database
Search by region, treaty or document type.
WorldCourts
Case law research. Search African and Inter-American regional courts and committees simultaneously. WorldCourts does not include decisions of the European Court of Human Rights.