News and Newspapers

• Factiva extensive coverage of newspapers around the world.

• NewsBank extensive coverage of newspapers around the world.

• Nexis Uni local, national and international newspapers, magazines and press agencies.

News Databases - US & Canada

• Factiva: extensive global coverage
• ProQuest  News and Newspapers: includes
  •  (1977-current) Canada Newsstream 190 Canadian newspapers
  •  (1980-current) US Newsstream - Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal,  local and regional newspapers
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers: includes
  • (1851-2015) The New York Times 
  • (1923-2002) Wall Street Journal 
  • (1887-1994) Washington Post 
  • (1893-1988) African American Newspapers 
• Chronicling America: (1789-1963) newspaper search tool from the Library of Congress 
• 19th Century US Newspapers: (1800-1899)
• Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: (1860-1865) influential and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses 
• Cornell Making of America: (1789-1877) American social history 

Individual Newspapers - US & Canada

• The New York Times politics, society and events of the time.
  • (1992-current) - International edition ProQuest News and Newspapers
  • (1851-2014) Proquest Historical Newspapers
• Wall Street Journal business-focussed news
  • (1984-current) ProQuest News and Newspapers
  • (1923-2002) ProQuest Historical Newspapers
• Harpers Weekly (1857-1912) cultural reviews, literature & verse and major news stories 
• ​The Friend of Man (1836-1842) anti-slavery newspaper published in New York State 
• ​The British Colonist (1858-1980) the leading paper in the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia 

News databases - UK & Ireland

• Factiva extensive global coverage.
• 18th Century Journals : a portal to Newspapers and Periodicals (c1685-1835) rare journals covering all aspects of social, political and literary life
• 19th Century UK Periodicals (1800-1899) grouped under the themes: Part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure, Part II: Empire 
• British Library Newspapers (1732 -1950)
• Early English Books Online (1473-1700) includes seventeenth-century corantos and newsbooks
• British Periodicals (17th century - early 21st) 500 British periodicals 
• The Word on the Street  (1650-1910) Scottish Broadsides - Crime, politics, romance, emigration, humour, tragedy, royalty and superstitions
•  British Pathe (1896-1976) newsreels and documentaries 

Individual Newspapers - UK & Ireland

• The Times: news and opinion on politics, science, literature, and the arts from British perspective
  • (1981-current) Factiva  
  • (1785-2014) Times Digital Archive
• The Sunday Times
• Financial Times
  • Proquest (1996-current, previous 1 month not available)
  • Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010)
• The Economist
• The Illustrated London Times (1842-2003) world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, covering British and world events. 

• Caribbean newspaper digital collection newspapers resources from the Caribbean

• Europeana (1618 to 1996) Search across newspapers from Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Serbia, Poland, Luxembourg
• Tímarit.is newspapers and periodicals of the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Iceland.

 Italy

• La Stampa (1867-2005) Italian language daily newspaper from Turin
• Le Gazzetti Bolognesi (1647-1796) Political-military events from important Italian and European cities, digitized by the Archiginnasio Library

 France

• La presse quotidienne dans Gallica (1823-1846) a selection of French newspapers, including Le Figaro (1826-1942); Le Temps (1861-1939) and others from the Bibliothèque nationale de France

 Russia

• Pravda Digital Archive Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party (1918-1991)

 Japan

• Japan Times Archive (1897-2016) world affairs, written in English, from a Japanese perspective 
• Nikkei Telecom (1949-current) Nihon Keizai Shimbun Newspaper 
• Kikuzo II Visual (1879-current) Asahi Shimbun Newspaper 
• Yomidas Rekishikan (1874-current) The Yomiuri Shimbun Newspaper 

 China

• China Core Newspapers (2000-current) academic articles from over 500 publicly issued newspapers published in mainland China 
• For more Chinese language newspapers visit our Chinese Studies and Language Library Guide

Singapore

• NewspapersSG (1835-2017) from National Library of Singapore. English, Chinese, Tamil and Malay language newspapers 

 India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka

• South Asian Newspapers (1864-1922) English-, Gujarati- and Bengali-language papers published in India, in the regions of the Subcontinent that now comprise Pakistan, and in Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) 

• Historic Jewish Press Publications from the Middle East and Europe
• Al-Jazeera  English language site of Qatar based pan-Arabian TV broadcaster.

 Lebanon

• Daily Star  Daily newspaper from Lebanon