International Investment Law

Finding Awards & Decisions from Multiple Arbitral Institutions

The following UniMelb subscription databases provide access to International arbitral tribunal decisions and awards from multiple tribunals. Selected domestic court decisions concerning the recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards issued in investor-state disputes are sometimes also included. The databases all have different content and are searched in different ways, so to research comprehensively, you may need to use several.

Investor-State Law Guide - The Dispute Documents database includes arbitral decisions and awards, party pleadings, amicus briefs, and procedural orders.  The following analytical tools are also provided:

• Subject Navigator - search or browse for arbitral decisions by topic.
• Article Citator - to determine how arbitral tribunals have interpreted specific provisions from hundreds of bilateral investment treaties, free trade agreements, and arbitration rules.
• Jurisprudence Citator - to determine whether an arbitral decision has been cited and/or followed by tribunals in subsequent investor-state disputes.

Investment Claims (Oxford University Press) - includes more than 900 arbitral decisions and awards. 

Kluwer Arbitration - although not focus only on international investment arbitration, this database includes over 500 awards issued in investor-state disputes, as well as over 100 selected domestic court decisions from many jurisdictions.  To find decisions:

• Select All Content on the home page.
• In the dropdown menu, check Court Decisions and Investment Arbitration, and then select jurisdiction/s.
• Use Advanced Options to refine your search with additional filters.

Case Notes

The UNCTAD website (open access) includes:

• the annual Investor-State Dispute Settlement: Review of Developments. This publication contains an overview of cases initiated in the past year, overall case outcomes and an in-depth analysis of arbitral decisions.
• the Database of Treaty-Based Investor-State Dispute Settlement Cases. This database provides case abstracts for key procedural or substantive issues.
• The Division on Investment and Enterprise also periodically publishes topical overviews and analyses. 

Investment Arbitration Reporter (UniMelb staff & student access) contains articles and commentary about pending and recently concluded investor-state arbitrations.  Search by keyword or browse by country, topic, industry or treaty. 

Kluwer Arbitration's ICCA Yearbook Commercial Arbitration provides an annual update on key developments, including an investment treaty awards and decisions digest.