Library Guides: Southeast Asian Region Countries Law: Korea

World Justice Project - Rule of Law Index - Country Profile

World Justice Project - Rule of Law Index - Country Profile for South Korea

World Justice Project - Rule of Law Index - Country Profile for South Korea
The Index provides data on the following dimensions of the rule of law:
» Limited government powers
» Absence of corruption
» Order and security
» Fundamental rights
» Open government
» Effective regulatory enforcement
» Access to civil justice
» Effective criminal justice
» Informal justice
World Justice Project - Rule of Law Index (Full Report)

Latest Korea Legal News

Korean Legal System

Korealaw.com provides a detailed overview of Korean Legal System (open access).

Foreign Law Guide - South Korea (UniMelb staff & student access) provides access to legislation and other primary sources of law on multiple legal topics. It also contains bibliographies of useful secondary sources (books and articles) on these topics.

Korean legal system is a mix of civil and customary law. See Juriglobe for further information(open access).

Beginning Korean Legal Research

See research guides on Korean legal research:

Center for Korean Legal Studies
The Center for Korean Legal Studies at Columbia Law School has been at the forefront of research on Korean law in the United States for more than 20 years

Law Library of Congress - Guides to Law Online

General Country Information

Doing Business in Asia - Korea Commentary

Doing Business in South Korea
(Open Access) Provides statistics and other measures of business regulations and their enforcement for Korea in 2015. The 'Law Library' link on the right-hand side provides a large collection of business laws and regulations, linking to government sites where possible.