Skip to Main Content

Asian Art

Introduction

Introduction

Welcome to the Asian Art Subject Research Guide

This guide highlights resources relevant to the study of Asian Art. 

For a more comprehensive list of Library resources for Art History please visit the Art History and Curatorship guide and the A-Z eJournals and Databases website.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and reference sources

General art reference sources:

 

Chinese art:

Index to Ming Dynasty Chinese Paintings
A database containing over 9,000 records of Chinese artwork and artists from the Ming Dynasty. 
The database includes: artist biographies, artwork descriptions, a bibliography covering the Ming Dynasty period, mid-14th through mid-17th centuries in China.

Japanese art:

Books

To find books on a particular subject, do a keyword search in the Library Catalogue. Alternatively you can search by title, author, etc.
You can also find books on similar topics through the subject headings in item records. Click on these headings to find related subjects and titles. 

Screenshot of how to use subject headings in the library catalogue

Looking for a book we don't have or is not on our shelves?

Inter-Library Loans

University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s Inter-Library Loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms.

 

Logo of CAVAL

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other universities and TAFEs. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card.

You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.

Recommended books

The library catalogue

Databases

Discipline-specific databases

Databases useful for Asian Art:
 
  • Asia Art Archive
    A large collection of primary and secondary source material on contemporary Asian art. Secondary materials include: exhibition catalogues, monographs, reference books, periodicals, audio-visuals, AAA files, invitation cards, leaflets and clippings.

eJournals

e-Journals

Below is a selected list of online Asian art eJournals. For a complete list of eJournals held by the University of Melbourne Library please visit our A-Z eJournals page.

Websites

General advice on websites (map this box)

You can find relevant information and resources for your research on the websites of professional organisations and bodies, institutes, NGOs, government departments, etc.

This guide gives a few suggestions to get you started and to give you an idea what to look for. It is by no means comprehensive. If you are a coursework student, check your LMS to see if your lecturer has provided website recommendations.

Tip: if you want to limit your Google search results to organisational, governmental, or educational websites, use Google's advanced search option to limit the site or domains to .org, .gov, .edu

Cultural Materials Conservation websites

Selected websites on Asian art:
China
Japan
Southeast Asia

Images

Online image collections

Contact us

Contact