Australia – States & Territories - Authorised Law Reports - Library Guides at University of Melbourne

Australia - States & Territories

Court	Title of Reporting Series	Abbreviation of Report Series	Unimelb Online Holdings	Unimelb Print Holdings	Example Citation (AGLC4 style)
Supreme Court of Victoria	Victorian Reports 1957-	VR	1957- Lexis+ Australia and Westlaw Australia	1957-	Sent v Andrews (2002) 6 VR 317
	Victorian Law Reports 1875-1956	VLR	1874-1956 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	v.1 1875-v.81 1956	Hawthorne Bros v Reilly [1949] VLR 137
Supreme Court of New South Wales	New South Wales Law Reports 1970-	NSWLR	1971- Lexis+ Australiaand Westlaw Australia	1971-	[1982] 2 NSWLR 836
	New South Wales Reports	NSWR	1960-1970 NSWLR (viewable online - not available for free download)	1960-1970	[1970] 3 NSWR 233
	State Reports of NSW 1901-1970	SR (NSW)	1901-1950 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	v.1 1901-v.59 1959	[1961] SR (NSW) 247
	New South Wales Law Reports 1880-1900	LR (NSW)	1856-1900 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	v.1 1880-v.21 1900	(1900) 21 LR (NSW) 271
Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory	Australian Capital Territory Law Reports	ACTLR	2008- Westlaw Australia	Not available in hard copy	(2012) 6 ACTLR 116
	Australian Capital Territory Reports 1973-2008	ACTR	1973-2008 Lexis+ Australia	Included as part of the Australian Law Reports v.1 1973-	Environment Protection Authority v Rashleigh(2005) 159 ACTR 8
Supreme Court of Northern Territory	Northern Territory Law Reports 1991-	NTLR	1991- Westlaw Australia	v.1 1991-	(1995) 5 NTLR 45
	Northern Territory Reports 1979-1991	NTR	1979-1991 Lexis+ Australia	Included as part of the Australian Law Reports v.1 1979-v.79 1991	Attorney-General v Wurrabadlumba(1990) 74 NTR 5
Supreme Court of Queensland	Queensland Reports 1958-	QdR	1958 to current - open access on the Queensland Judgments Authorised Reports website 1958 - current Westlaw Australia 1958 - current Lexis+ Australia	1958-	Davidson v Bucknell[2011] 1 Qd R 563
	State Reports Queensland 1902-57	St R Qd	1902 - 1957 - open access on the Queensland Judgments Authorised Reports website	1902-1957	McKenzie v Anderson(1922) St R Qd 210
Supreme Court of South Australia	South Australian State Reports 1971-	SASR	1971- Westlaw Australia	v.1 1971-	K-Generation Pty Ltd v Liquor Licensing Court (2007) 99 SASR 58
	State Reports South Australia 1921-70	SRSA	1920-1950 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	1921-1970	McKernan v Fraser [1930] SASR 364
	South Australian Law Reports 1899-1920	SALR	1863-1920 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	1899-1920	Cutlack v Renmark Irrigation Trust No. 1[1901] SALR 36
Supreme Court of Tasmania	Tasmanian Reports 1979-	Tas R	1992- Westlaw Australia 1979-1991 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	1979-	State of Tasmania v Anti-Discrimination Tribunal (2009) 19 Tas R 54
	Tasmanian State Reports 1941-1978	Tas SR	1941-1978 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	1941-1954 1954-1978	R v Scripps
	Tasmanian Law Reports 1904-1940	Tas LR	1897-1940 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	v.1 1904-v.35 1940	Re Hobart Tepid Baths Ltd (1940) 35 Tas LR 149
Supreme Court of Western Australia	Western Australian Reports 1960-	WAR	1983- Westlaw Australia	1960-	Grubisic v State of Western Australia (2011) 41 WAR 524
	Western Australian Law Reports 1899-1959	WALR	1898-1958 AustLII (replicas of the original report series)	v.1 1899-v.60-1959	Litis v Pantelis (1958) 60 WALR 17

Westlaw Australia
Westlaw Australia provides Australian legal resources with selected New Zealand content.

See relevant cases, commentary and authorised reports in a single search. Uses natural language search and a database of case law and journals, legislation and commentary to precedents, encyclopaedia and news.
AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
AustLII publishes public legal information including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports, for example) and a substantial collection of law journals. Includes full-text Acts of Australian and State Parliaments.
Lexis+ Australia
Australian online legal information source, offering a range of subscription services for legal reference and research. It is a full text database of Australian law, including some legislation and case law. It also includes two case citators and a legal encyclopaedia.