Library Guides: Sports law: International

International sports law

This page includes links to the international sporting bodies and organisations that regulate international sports law.

Key book and journal databases are also identified.

See NYU's International Sports Law library guide (Globalex) for more information on researching international sports law.

For broader international law research, see the Public International Law library guide (University of Melbourne).

International sports law - Globalex

Public International Law
by Jason Odering Last Updated Nov 12, 2025 27971 views this year

Olympic Movement

"The Olympic Movement is the concerted, organised, universal and permanent action, carried out under the supreme authority of the IOC, of all individuals and entities who are inspired by the values of Olympism." https://www.olympics.com/ioc/olympic-movement

To belong to the Olympic Movement, sports federations must comply with the Olympic Charter and be recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

International Olympic Committee (IOC)
The IOC is an independent international organisation promoting good governance in sport.
Olympic Charter
The Olympic Charter is the founding document of the Olympic Movement, establishing how the Olympic Games are celebrated and codifying the fundamental principles of Olympism and the rules adopted by the International Olympic Committee. The Charter establishes the relations between the International Federations, National Olympic Committees and the Olympic Movement.
International Sports Federations
International Sports Federations regulate individual sports. They are recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and must ensure their activities comply with the Olympic Charter. Select specific federations from this site to find information regarding their disciplinary codes and dispute resolution procedures.

Note, there are three categories of International Sports Federations. Follow the links below for news and resources.

Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF)

Association of International Winter Sports Federations (AIOWF)

Association of the IOC Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF) (non-olympic sports recognised by the IOC).

Court of Arbitration for Sport

Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS)
An international body established in 1984 to settle disputes related to sport through arbitration. This site includes links to recent decisions and the Jurisprudence Database (search all decisions, new decisions, decisions by sport and decisions by year).
International Court of Arbitration for Sport (ICAS)
ICAS facilitates the resolution of sports-related disputes through arbitration or mediation and safeguards the independence of CAS and the rights of the parties. It is also responsible for the administration and financing of CAS.

World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)

World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)
World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) coordinates anti-doping rules and policies for sports worldwide, monitoring the implementation of the World Anti-Doping Code and related International Standards.
World Anti-Doping Code
The World Anti-Doping Code is the core document that harmonizes anti-doping policies, rules and regulations within sport organizations and among public authorities around the world. It works in conjunction with eight International Standards which aim to foster consistency among anti-doping organizations in various areas.

United Nations

Centre for Sport and Human Rights
Governed by the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) and the International Labour Organisation (ILO). Includes broad coalition of Advisory Council members and Engaged Organisations committed to the Sporting Chance Principles.
Sporting Chance Principles
Developed by the Centre for Sport and Human Rights Advisory Council to affirm a shared commitment to realising human rights in and through sport.
UNESCO - Sport
UNESCO is the UN agency that promotes education, science, culture, and communication to build peace, equality, and sustainable solutions worldwide.
UNESCO International Convention against Doping in Sport
UNESCO’s International Convention against Doping in Sport (2005) harmonizes anti-doping legislation, regulations and rules internationally to ensure a level playing field.

For international treaties and declarations address human-rights related sports issues and discrimination in sports, see NYU's International Sports Law research guide (Globalex)

Journals

Major law journal databases

Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
Includes books, articles, government documents and links to external sources by topic (via Hein).

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library is a full text legal journals database. Includes core U.S. journals, international and non-U.S. law journals, including the Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport and Sports Law and Governance Journal.
LegalTrac
Indexes major law reviews, international legal journals from the U.S, Canada, U.K and Australia.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, sports medicine, sport law and legislation, allied health and more. Includes access to the Entertainment and Sports Law Journal and International Sports Law Review.
SpringerLink Journals (Springer)
Use the top right 'Search' icon to find articles by keyword. Includes access to the International Sports Law Journal.

International sports law journals

The International Sports Law Journal
Provides comment and information to those interested in sports and the law - whether academics, practitioners or others - about "legally relevant" developments in the world of sport in a national and international perspective.
Journal of Legal Aspects of Sport
An interdisciplinary journal covering legal issues in sport, recreation, and related fields. Flagship publication for the Sport and Recreation Law Association (U.S).
Sports Law and Governance Journal (formerly Sports Law eJournal)
Established in 2005 by the Centre for Commercial Law at Bond University. The Journal has an international and comparative law focus.

Books

Library Catalogue

Search the library catalogue for books using keywords or subject terms.

Useful subject terms for international sports law:

Sports -- Law and legislation -- International cooperation.

International Olympic Committee.

Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Athletes -- Legal status, laws, etc.

World Anti-Doping Agency.

For ebooks, narrow your catalogue search to online books only, or review the databases listed on the Law Library website.

Law Library database lists - ebooks

Selected books on international sports law

The Routledge handbook on sports law and governance by Annette Greenhow and John Wolohan (eds)
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2025
Olympic games, sports law and human rights by Alexandre Mestre
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2024
Handbook on international sports law by James Nafziger and Ryan Gauthier (eds)
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2022

Further research and reports

International Association of Sports Law (IASL)
The objective of IASL is the cultivation and the development of the Science, the research and the teaching of Sports Law and the institution of the Olympic Games.
Asser International Sports Law Centre
The ASSER Institute maintains a list of national sports associations from around the world.
Australia New Zealand Sports Law Association (ANZSLA)
ANZSLA includes a list of affiliated sports law associations.
Play the Game
Play the Game is an initiative run by the Danish Institute for Sports Studies (Idan) that promotes democratic values in world sports with an emphasis on freedom of expression, transparency, and open dialogue.