Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Collections and Services

This guide will introduce you to the services, facilities and resources available to students and academic staff.

2022 Research program

2022 research program


 

This program of events is brought to MGSE researchers during the first half of 2022. To register, please click on the title for each session.
 

Graduate Research Seminars

 

Tuesday, 17 May, 3pm- 4pm ~ Planning a review of the literature

The university provides access to many specialist databases and indexes. Databases are provided by companies such as Ebscohost, Proquest, OVID, Informit, Web of Knowledge, Elsevier, Science Direct, and more. This session will introduce you to techniques to map your research topic or field. Your new understanding will enhance your literature searches, help you make informed decisions and save time. 

When to attend: Early - up to confirmation (and if you are collecting data for a scoping or systematic review)


Wednesday, 1 June, 3pm - 4pm ~ Using Citation Indexes: Web of Science & Scopus

This session sets out to compare two prominent citation indexes. Citation indexes are essential tools for gaining insights to the research landscape for literature reviews and research evaluation.

Web of Science (created 1964)  is the first index for tracking research and citation metrics. Under ISI, Thomson Reuters and Clarivate Analytics it has undergone many changes over its six-decade long history and has recently undergone even more changes.  

Scopus (created 2004) was created by Elsevier. It indexes over 25K journals and is an important data tool for research funders, universities and research centers.

When to attend: After the initial 6 months or post confirmation (also Early Career)


Tuesday, 7 June, 3pm - 4pm ~ Dimensions: a way to follow publications, datasets, patents and more

First created in 2018 by the Digital Science company, Dimensions is a powerful tool for finding literature, understanding the broader research landscape and for monitoring trends across the research ecosystem. It is a linked discovery layer to bring together scholarly publications, datasets, grants, patents, clinical trials and policy documents.  

When to attend: After the initial 6 months or post confirmation (also Early Career)


Wednesday, 22 June, 10am - 10:45am ~ Having fun with everyday data tools and applications

Are you working with musical scores, artworks, transcripts, demographic or other types of research data? During this short session with Amanda Belton and Kristal Spreadborough we will provide a space for HASS research to play with a couple of research data tools and applications. E.g., we can collect research data using Qualtrics, use Excel to extract our data; and see how Voyant makes word-trends visible.

When to attend: When you are planning for data collection or actively working with data


Wednesday, 10 August, 3pm - 4pm ~ Scholarly journals (Publishing in journals and staying current)

Want to strengthen your research skills by staying up to date with quality journals in your research area or build a strong publishing/research track record but not sure which journal outlets you should be submitting to? Join this session and learn about digital tools to support decisions about which journals to choose. Bring your questions along and learn how to evaluate journals to target the best match for your work. 

When to attend: When you are planning to publish (before, during or soon after thesis submission)