Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Find Full Text - Authentication Changes

Update - Endnote 'Find FullText' feature is no longer reliable


We have changed our authentication system to Open Athens, however EndNote is not compatible with it.  This means that the 'Find FullText' feature found within Endnote is no longer fully functional.  We are currently working on the issue. In the meantime, we have suggested other useful methods to import PDF's into Endnote below. Please ensure you are using the correct Open URL Link in your Endnote system preferences.

Ways to locate and attach full text files

Ways to locate and attach full text files

A range of methods can be used to locate and import full text documents for references in Endnote Libraries. Choose the most suitable method based on your preferred workflows and project requirements. 

Listed below are some suggested methods to import PDF's into Endnote - 

* Note that there are issues with the 'Find Full Text' feature hence other methods are recommended to bring PDF's into your library.


Automatically import PDFs (pre-set folder)

Automatically import PDFs (preset folder)


You can set your preferences to enable EndNote to automatically import PDFs from a folder on your computer (examples are for Endnote 9.3):

1.  Select: EndnoteX9 > Preferences > PDF Handling

2.  Tick the checkbox: Enable automatic importing

3.  Click the Select Folder button to choose the folder on your computer where you will place PDF files.

 

 

 

Import a folder of PDF files (ad hoc)

Import a folder of PDF files (as you go)


You can import a folder of PDF files to quickly create a group set with groups of references corresponding to the sub-folders:

  1. Select: File > Import > 
  2. Choose a Folder of PDF's you would like to import.
  3. Select Import
  4. The records can be viewed in 'imported references' pane

undefined

Open URL + Lean Library

Open URL + Lean Library


 

  • This way of retrieving full text files relies on a browser plugin Lean Library. Lean Library brings our collections to you seamlessly. It offers one of the friendliest ways to find full text such as PDF files.
  • You may sometimes need to use one of the other methods in addition to this method.
  • Now and then you may also need to request an item via interlibrary loan if the library does not usually subscribe to the journal in an existing database collection.
  • With this method, you can locate only one PDF at a time.
  • The PDF does not attach to the record in your library automatically. You will need to drag it across or attach the PDF manually.

Follow these steps to install and find full texts via Lean Library::

  1. Install Lean Library in your preferred web browser.
  2. Set Lean Library to recognise that you come from University of Melbourne
  3. Click on the 'Open Link' icon in the Endnote toolbar or right-click on the reference in the reference window > URL > Open URL
    • What happens next depends on a variety of factors and settings. Follow the prompts to complete the search.

References exported from Web of Knowledge databases

  • The text in the URL-field displays like this <Go to ISI>://WOS:000285348700002
  • To use Web of Science links to connect to the database record a setting needs to be adjusted to link out to the University of Melbourne ISI Web of Knowledge service.
  • The setting is at Edit > Preferences... > URLs & Links.  Replace the ISI Base URL with the following: http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi

Open URL Link + SFX

Open URL Link + SFX


  • This method of retrieving full text may already be familiar to you.
  • It relies on the library's SFX software (Find it @ UniMelb) and let you access journal articles and ebooks when the Journal/ISSN is indexed.
  • It complements the Open URL + Lean Library method mentioned above..
  • Using this method, you an retrieve only one PDF at a time.
  • The PDF will not be automatically added to your reference. You will need to drag it across or attach it to the record in your library.

Follow these steps:

  1. Make sure the correct path is added in your Endnote preferences. Click on Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text
    • OpenURL path : https://unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/sfxlcl41
    • Authenticate with URL box.: leave blank. Endnote is not currently compatible with our changed authetication system, Open Athens.
  2. Select: References > URL > Open URL Link or by right-click on the reference in the reference window.
  3. A browser window will open Find It @ UniMelb
    • Information about the availability of the journal in various database collections will be displayed
  4. GO to access the required online source
  5. If an online source produces an error message or does not locate the appropriate item, remove the information in the Year, Volume, Issue and pages boxes and click GO again
    • This will attempt to find the resource correctly

 

Find Full Text

Find Full Text

 

NOTE: Open Athens, Melbourne University's new authentication system, is not compatible with Endnote's Find Fulltext feature - resulting in fewer full text imports than when using this feature.
 

  • However, you may sometimes find it useful when there is open accessible literature in your sample.
  • If an PDF is found, it will be automatically attached to the reference in your library.
  • EndNote can carry out up to 1000 full text searches at a time, however the authentication system is limited to allow 50 requests per authenticated user in any 30 minute period. Systematic or excessive downloading is not permitted

The settings for the Find Full Text feature are found under Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text. You will need to leave the 'Authenticate with' setting blank.

To search for full text:

  • Select one or multiple reference(s).
  • Click the Find Full Text toolbar icon (located at the top of the library)      undefined
  •  EndNote will attempt to locate a PDF copy of the reference(s). 
  • Results will be displayed under Find Full Text in the Groups pane.
  • Articles can be viewed by clicking the Open File toolbar icon

       

Attach PDF files manually

Attach PDF files manually


Files such as PDFs and Word documents and image files that have been saved on a local or network drive can attached to records individually.

You can do this in a number of ways:

1. References > File Attachments > Attach File on the menu. 

OR

2. Right click on a selected reference and choose  File Attachments > Attach File on the menu

Attached files can then be viewed by clicking the by opening the individual reference and looking at the PDF pane or within the reference body witin the field 'File Attachments'.