Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Energy Systems

A library research guide for Energy Systems students and researchers at the University of Melbourne.

Introduction

Welcome to the Energy Systems Subject Research Guide                      

Your subject librarians have designed this guide to highlight online resources at the University of Melbourne Library that are relevant to Energy Systems.

University library services continue to be offered through virtual delivery, with select libraries opening up in 2021 for University of Melbourne staff and students only. 

Keep up to date with the latest information on library services

Quick Start

eBooks

eBooks access during the COVID-19 pandemic

During the Covid19 pandemic, a number of Publishers and Providers are giving free unlimited access to a range of online resources.

You can see the list at our Library Blog

Energy Systems eBook databases
Search for eBooks via the library catalogue, Discovery or specialist eBook databases
Reading eBooks

Most of the ebooks provided by the library can simply be read online using a web browser and/or downloaded, by section or chapter, in PDF format.

To access, download, read, and print most ebooks from the library you simply need:

Some ebook providers require you to check-out or borrow ebooks and use particular software, such as Adobe Digital Editions, to read their ebooks.

However, you will be prompted to do this when you try to access an ebook with special requirements and instructions will be provided.

Can't find what you want?

Why not try our Source online and print resources page

Reciprocal borrowing services such as Bonus+ and CAVAL are currently unavailable owing to closure of non-essential services during the COVID-19 lockdown. When libraries are fully operative again, these services will continue.

Featured eBooks

Fast Facts

eReference access during the COVID-19 pandemic

During the Covid19 pandemic, a number of Publishers and Providers are giving free unlimited access to a range of online resources.

You can see the list at our Library Blog

Key eReference databases

Find a list of key databases below that give you access to online references works, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other fast facts such as reference data, graphs, tables, equations, and material or chemical properties, etc.

To find further reference information you can search:

General eReference
Energy Systems eReference examples

Databases

Finding journals articles, conference proceedings & more

Discovery

  • You can use Discovery to search across most of the journals and other content the library subscribes to.
  • Access Discovery via the search box on the library homepage.

eJournals and Databases

You can access some key databases directly by clicking the links below:

Key multidisciplinary databases
Key Energy Systems databases
Video: Basics of database searching

Basics of database searching from unilibrary on Vimeo.

eJournals

Browzine e-Journals

Click on the buttons below to view a selection of online Science and Engineering eJournals that the Library subscribes to (these will open in a new window). For a complete list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page.

More information on e-Journals

The databases below provide further information on e-Journals, such as:

  • Whether a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.
  • Whether the journal/publisher is suspected to be predatory.
  • Which databases the journal is indexed in.
  • Acceptance rates, and the typical time taken to review and publish papers.
  • Metrics, such as the journal impact factor (JIF) and ranking within subject areas.

Search Engines

Search Engines & Digital Repositories

undefinedYou can use Google Scholar and the other search engines and repositories below to search for scholarly content and then access the full-text via the library, rather than having to purchase content:

Turn on “Find It @ Unimelb” links when browsing Google Scholar at home.

Use the Lean Library or LibKey Nomad browser extension to access full-text online resources in your browser without going through the library website or Discovery.

News

Key News sources

Find below a list of useful databases for finding newspaper and magazine articles, television news broadcasts and broadcast transcripts:

Looking for more news and newspapers?

Visit the News and Newspapers guide

Standards

Standards

Standards are documents setting out specifications, procedures and guidelines. They are designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent. They are based on industrial, scientific and consumer experience and are regularly reviewed to ensure they keep pace with new technologies.

Standards cover everything from consumer products and services, construction, engineering, business, information technology, human services to energy and water utilities, the environment and much more.

Key standards databases are listed below, for more information on standards, and how to search for them refer to the Standards Library Guide

Standards Databases
Looking for Standards?

Visit the Standards guide

Patents

Patents

A patent is an exclusive right that is granted by a government to an inventor for any device, substance, method or process that is new, inventive and useful. It also provides a legal right for the inventor or creator to commercially exploit the invention for the life of the patent.

Espacenet

 

This video gives a brief introduction to Espacenet and how it can be used.

 

Espacenet used the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) is an extension of the IPC and is jointly managed by the EPO and the US Patent and Trademark Office. It is divided into nine sections, A-H and Y, which in turn are sub-divided into classes, sub-classes, groups and sub-groups. There are approximately 250 000 classification entries. This video provides a brief explanation on how it works

More Patents
ORCID Plus Profiles

Company & Industry Information

Company, Industry & Country Information
Looking for more information on Companies, Industries or Countries?

 

Visit the Company, Industry & Country Information guide

Theses

Looking for theses?

Visit the Theses guide

Referencing and Citing

Need help with referencing?
Learn how reference management software can help you with referencing:
Need help with referencing specialist scientific software?

Research Skills

Developing research skills

The library provides support and services for students and researchers completing more in-depth research for a major project or thesis:

Libraries

Baillieu Library

undefinedThe Baillieu Library is the University's largest discipline library and is central to teaching, learning and research in the arts, humanities and social sciences.  

ERC (Parkville)

The Eastern Resource Centre (ERC) forms part of the Eastern Precinct Science Student Centre, supporting the Faculty of Science and The Melbourne School of Engineering, and also houses the East Asian Collection.

The ERC is currently closed and being redeveloped as part of the New Student Precinct Project.

Brownless Biomedical Library (Parkville)

The Brownless Biomedical Library houses an extensive collection of print resources in areas such as botany, biology, genetics, medicine, psychology and behavioural science, veterinary science and zoology. Items in this collection are available for 28 day loan. The basement of The Brownless Biomedical Library houses special and stacks collections, as well as a wide range of print journals.

 

Burnley

The Science Library in Burnley resources teaching and research through the specialist collections for horticulture and the plants sciences. It provides user-focused services and an inviting environment for student collaboration and study. The Library serves students of horticulture and research students and staff from the School of Ecosystem and Forest Science. The collections' interdisciplinary nature provides a valued resource for programs across the University of Melbourne.

Creswick

The Science Creswick Library is at the Creswick Campus and supports the School of Ecosystem and Forest Science and the wider University community. Its collections cover the areas of forest and plantation hydrology; community forestry; fire ecology and management; forest industries and wood products; forests climate change and greenhouse research; native forest ecology and restoration; tree developmental biology and forest biotechnology; tree ecophysiology; tree plantations and health.

Want to know about other libraries?

Contact Us

Book an online Zoom Research Consultation

Would you like help with expert searching?

Do you want assistance with managing your data or understanding how to maximise your research’s impact?

Is reference management your weak spot?

Librarians can help.

Researchers and graduate research students are eligible for a one-on-one 1-hour online Zoom consultation with one of our subject specialist librarians.

Book an online Zoom consultation

Contact the Science and Engineering Library Team

You can contact the Science and Engineering Library team directly:

scieng-lib@lists.unimelb.edu.au

 

Ask a question on Library Chat

Visit us on social media