Skip to main content

Readings Online User Guide

Linking to online journals & Books

To save a link to this page go to the abstract page for the article you are after.

 

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.
 

 

Linking to individual journal articles

Go to the required journal article and right click on the PDF link and use Copy link address option to save the URL as your link.
 
 
 

eBook link

Locate the eBook in Cambridge Books Online and Right mouse click on the DOI and select 'Copy link address'

 

eBook chapters

Go to the required book chapter and right click on the PDF link and use Copy link address option to save the URL as your link.

 

 

 

 

 

Go to the Full Text Article page and click on the email button, when the pop up email form opens right click on the article title that follows the icon and use the ‘Copy link location’ option to save this URL to use as your link.  Click on cancel to exit the email link form

Locate the book/journal in EBSCO and click Permalink in the Tools menu on the right. Copy and paste the link from the permalink window.

Emerald Journals/Book series

After you have located the article right click on the PDF and use this URL as your stable link.

Click on Bookmark this document (right side of the screen) to display a box containing the persistent link

Copy and paste this URL to use as your stable link.

Locate the article in HeinOnline. Select the option that looks like a chain. This will produce a permanent link to the page. Copy and use this as your stable link.

Once you have accessed a case, select the icon that looks like an arrow pointing right (next to the print icon) and then select the option 'copy link.'

Go to either the abstract or the PDF for the journal article you’re after and in the citation details you will find a permalink inside <> triangle brackets, this URL can be copied and used as the link for the article.

To locate the Stable URL for a  Journal/Book chapter, click the title of the resource - a new page will open and then you can find the Stable URL under the title.

Journal

Book

Please see link below for deep linking to law databases

Law Databases

Once you have navigated to a resource (either a publication or specific case or journal article) select the link 'Actions' and then 'link to this page'. The link will need to be edited with the following information at the end of the link: &federationidp=F2D4KJ52509

Go to the full text of the case you are after and from the icons at the top right of the full text click on the button that looks like a chain then read the instructions provided in the pop up window and copy the URL for the PDF version of the case and use this as your link to the case

 

 

Journals

Go to the full text of the journal article you are after and click on the ‘Email PDF Jumpstart’ link in the right side navigation panel, then copy the Jumpstart URL displayed in the popup box

        

 

eBooks

Go to the full text of the book chapter you are after and click on the 'Email Jumpstart link' from the top right of the page, then copy the URL from the pop up box that displays and use this as the URL for linking to the book chapter.

Journals

Locate the required article and right click on the PDF and select 'copy link address'. Save this URL as your link.

 

eBooks

Go to the Contents page for the subject and scroll to the contents entry for the chapter you wish to link to, then right click on the chapter title link and use the ‘Copy link address’ option to save this URL to use as your link.

Journals

Go to the full text PDF of the journal article you are after and right click on the ‘Download PDF’ button and use the ‘Copy link address’ option to save this URL to use as your link.

 

Ebooks

Go to the full text PDF of the book chapter you are after and right click on the ‘Download PDF’ button and use the ‘Copy link address’ option to save this URL to use as your link.

Go to the Abstract/Details page of the journal article you are after and scroll to the bottom of the screen and copy the URL in the field labelled ‘Document URL’. Right click and copy the link.

    

 

Proquest eBook Central whole book

Once you have searched for your book click on the 'share link to book' and copy this URL to save as your link.

 

Proquest eBook Central book chapter

Locate the required chapter from the contents page and at the top of the page click on the chain icon and use this URL as your link.

Step 1.

 

Step 2

 

Step 3

Sage Journals

Go to the full text PDF of the journal article you are after.

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

Sage knowledge eBooks

Locate the chapter in Sage and select Download PDF.

Copy the URL from the browser address bar.

ScienceDirect Journals

Go to the Citation/Abstract page of the journal article you are after and right click on the PDF download link at the top of the screen and use the 'Copy link address' option to save this URL to use as your link.

ScienceDirect eBooks

Go to the required chapter and right click on the PDF link located under the chapter title and use the 'Copy link address' option to save this URL to use as your link.

Springer Link journals

Go to the abstract of the journal article you are after and right click on the Download PDF button and use the 'Copy link address' option to save the URL to use for linking to SpringerLink articles

Springer Link eBooks

Go to the contents page for the eBook, find the chapter title you want to link to and right click on either the chapter title or the PDF option and use the 'Copy link address' option to save the URL for linking to a SpringerLink eBook chapters

Taylor & FrancisJournals

Locate the required article and click on the PDF option. Copy and paste the URL from the address browser bar.

 

 

Taylor & Francis eBooks

In the contents page of the book open the required chapter and copy the URL from the browser address bar.

 

You can deep link to a set of results or documents in Westlaw AU. Select the 'Get link' option (the icon is a chain). A pop up box will appear with the URL information. NB: it is not possible to hyperlink to University of Melbourne Westlaw AU content in Microsoft Office documents (e.g. Word and Excel). If you need to link users to Westlaw AU content from a Microsoft document it is recommended that you include the link as text (rather than a hyperlink or text embedded with a link). Westlaw AU generates long links and it is recommended that you use a URL shortener if you need to link to Westlaw AU content in a Microsoft Office document.

 

Wiley online Journals

Go to the abstract of the journal article you are after and right click on the PDF link and use the 'Copy link location' option to save the URL for  linking to Wiley Online Library articles.

Wiley online Books

Use instructions for journals

Loading ...