Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Readings Online User Guide

Guide for academic staff using Readings Online. Please contact the Readings Online team for more details.
 Getting started with books, book chapters and excerpts 

Hyperlinks to eBooks are preferred over PDFs

Copyright restrictions apply when uploading copies of books. Generally, only 10% of the total pages or 1 chapter (whichever is greater) can be made available online for educational purposes. However, if a book is no longer “available within a reasonable time and at an ordinary commercial price” (for example, if it's out of print) then it may be possible to have more than 10% of 1 chapter (up to and including the whole book).

If you wish to make more than 10% or 1 chapter available, check the library catalogue to see if an ebook is available and then upload a link to the book or required chapters.

If you cannot locate an ebook, or are unsure how much of a book you can upload, please contact us for assistance.

Choosing the right form & adding item details:
Metadata guidelines for books, book chapters and excerpts

All resources should have proper citation details. To assist with proper citation, certain fields in the Readings Online form have been marked with an asterisk (*) to indicate that it is mandatory. This section contains an overview of what needs to be included for each field.

 

Quick tips
  • All fields should be completed using sentence case.
  • Capitalise the first word of sentences and all proper nouns. 
 
Required fields standard to all books, book chapters and excerpts

 
Source Document

(Top left quadrant of the screen)

  • Publisher

Use the organisation, company or institution responsible for publication of the book or journal

  • Author/s - Individual, pair or group of people
    • Author names to be entered in a string, separated by commas
    • Do not use ‘&’, ‘and’ or ‘et al’ in the author field, these will be added based on citation style chosen
    • Do use a ‘.’ between initials, e.g. B.J
    • Examples
      • Bowman, Belinda, Vilareal, Wil
      • Bowman, B.J., Vilareal, W
      • Bowman, Belinda J., Vilareal, Wil
      • Bowman, B.J., Vilareal, W., Gibson, D., Fernando, B., Rusiniak, M
  • Author/s - Organisation/s
    • Name of organisation, department or group
  • Year published

Use the year displayed with the © symbol if available, or the year the publication was made available

  • Total pages (if attaching a file)

Can be found in either the catalogue record or Trove

  • ISBN (if attaching a file)

ISBN can be found in the catalogue record of the book or on the copyright page located in the front of the book near the title page. ISBNs are also often found on the back cover of the book sometimes near the publisher's barcode

 
Reading

(Top right quadrant of the screen)

  • Genre

Choose the appropriate reading type from the drop down list provided

  • Kind
    • File – PDF, etc., file to be uploaded
    • Link – the URL for the online version of the reading
    • Locate – used when the URL is unknown and a scanned version has not been supplied
  • Pages
    • N/A - Pagination is not applicable for this reading
    • Unknown - Pagination for the source material is unknown
    • Paginated - The source material is text and paginated
    • Not Paginated - The source material is text and is excerpt (e.g. two paragraphs) or has no pages numbers
    • Graphic - The source material is image (e.g. photo, chart, diagram, etc) and is not textual

 

 

Other guidelines for specific books 

Ebooks - Whole Books or Multiple/ Single Chapters 

1. Go to the Library catalogue http://cat.lib.unimelb.edu.au/ and search for the book by title.

Figure 1 - Search the Library Catalogue for a Book


2. Select the correct book title from the search results list by matching bibliographic details, such as publication year and edition.  

Figure 2 - Select the required title from the search results


3. Check to see if the book is available as an ebook – identifiable by the Internet Resource icon.


4. Click on the title and then click on Connect to ebook to access the ebook’s homepage.  You may be asked to log in using your University username and password.

Figure 3 - Connect to Ebook


5. From the ebook’s homepage, check for a pdf link (its location will vary depending on the publisher or database but it should be located near the top of the page and the citation information.)  Click on the link to make sure it works and that the pdf is available.

Depending on the publisher or database, it may be possible to link to either the whole book or a single chapter. Some databases may also allow the citation for either the book or the chapter to be downloaded as a RIS file that can be uploaded to Readings Online. If not, a copy of the link can be cut and paste into Readings Online once a record has been manually uploaded.


6. Check to see if there is an option to save or export the citation and save a copy of the citation information including the link to the pdf. This will vary depending on the ebook publisher and/or database but is usually denoted by a ‘View or Save citation option’ or an ‘Export’ option.  

Generally, to save a citation for the whole book, the option will be located on the main book page. For a chapter of a book, the option to save the citation will be located with the chapter information.

If there is no option to save the citation and export it as a RIS file, copy the link to either the whole book or chapter so that it can added to a record for the book/chapter on Readings Online which will be created later (See Adding the Book or Chapter to Readings Online manually). Paste the link into a word document and save it for safekeeping.

Figure 4 - Viewing the ebook and download citation for the whole book

Figure 5 - Viewing an ebook chapter and download a citation for that chapter


7. Save or export the citation as a RIS file or a Reference Manager (RefMan) file.  The file will usually save in your Downloads folder.  If you wish to save the folder to another file location, select another folder to save the file to.

Figure 6 - Downloading a ris file from a whole book

Figure 7 - Downloading a ris file from a book chapter

 

Adding a Book or Chapter to Readings Online manually 


If it is not possible to download a RIS file for the ebook or chapter, the reading will need to be created manually and link to the ebook or chapter added.  If a book is not available as an ebook, then a pdf of the chapter or excerpt can be added manually.


1. From the Readings Online page in the LMS subject, click on the Add drop down menu and click on the New book reading option.

Figure 1 - Adding a New Book Chapter manually


2. Follow steps 3 & 4 in Adding an ebook or Chapter to Readings Online using the RIS or RefMan file to enter the information for Availability, Required Reading and notes for Library and students.


3. Enter the citation information for the book or book chapter, ensuring that all required fields (marked with a red asterisk) are complete. The citation details can be cut and pasted where possible. Please include the total number of pages as well as the ISBN. This information can be found in the catalogue record of the book. Ensure that all the fields are filled out correctly, following the Metadata guidelines for book readings guide

 

Figure 2 - Entering the Citation Information for a Book Reading

For Genre, the following applies:

  •  

  • Whole Book – use if a record for a whole book is being created
  • Book Chapter – use if a record for a book chapter is being created
  • Book Excerpts – where excerpts are being uploaded, e.g. multiple pages.  For more information refer to the Metadata guidelines for book readings.

4. Add either a link to the ebook or ebook chapter  or to upload a scanned pdf:

  • For a Link - Under Kind click on Link and then paste the saved link for the item into text box

Figure 3 - Entering a link for a manual record for a Book Reading

  • For a scanned pdf – Under Kind click on File then Click on Select a File and locate the file saved in your computer.

Figure 4 - Uploading a scanned pdf for a Book Reading


5. Review the data entered to make sure there are no errors or spelling mistakes before clicking on ‘Submit

  • Do not use the Locate option as there will be no reading available for students to access and this reading will be rejected by Readings Online staff.
  • Do not upload a pdf from a database as this is not permitted under our database library agreement.

6. On the Readings Online home page, a green banner should appear advising that the request has been received and will be reviewed.  The new book reading should appear in the ‘Ungrouped readings’ section of the screen at the bottom of the list.

Figure 5 - Book Reading Submitted to the Reading List

  • If the reading does not appear click Refresh (or press F5) to view an updated screen.
  • If the record links to an ebook or chapter, the reading will be labelled ‘Active’ or ‘Pending’ (if the availability period has not started).  Test the link by clicking on the globe to ensure that the book or book chapter is linked correctly.
  • If a pdf was uploaded, the reading will be labelled ‘Submitted” as the pdf will need to be reviewed for copyright compliance before the reading can become available to students.  Once the reading has been approved, usually within 24 hours, test the link to the pdf to ensure that the document will open correctly.