Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Readings Online User Guide

Guide for academic staff using Readings Online. Please contact the Readings Online team for more details.
Advice when adding journal articles

Hyperlinks vs. uploading PDF copies

 

Hyperlinks to articles are preferred

  • Linking to articles from one of the Library’s databases is best practice
  • A PDF copy of a journal article should only be uploaded if it is not available electronically

​Why are hyperlinks better? 

  • It is easier to navigate the database licenses governing the use of library resources, which often restrict articles from being printed off or shared as PDFs online for teaching

 

Uploading PDF copies

  • A PDF copy of the article should only be uploaded if it is not available electronically
  • To upload a PDF copy, you will need to add the citation to your reading list manually
  • If you do not already have a PDF copy, you will need to scan the print article to create a digital copy

 

Copyright compliance and PDFs

  • You can use one article from a journal issue, or two or more articles from the same issue if they are on the same topic. 
  • If you are unsure if you can upload multiple articles from the same journal issues, please contact Readings Online
  • If you do need to print or download articles, please contact the Copyright Office

How to add your journal article

3 ways to find and add a journal article

   Searching Google Scholar for electronic journals


1. Go to Google Scholar and copy and paste the journal article title in the search box.  Click on the search icon.

 

Figure 1 - Searching for electronic Journal Article by title


2. Check the citation and publication details to identify the correct journal article. Click on the Find It @ Unimelb link to access the article via one of the library’s databases.

If there is no Find It @ Unimelb link or Google Scholar does not find the correct article, search the Library Catalogue to locate the article.

Figure 2 - Journal Article results available electronically


3. On the Find It @ Unimelb screen, check that the year, volume, issue and page number match the information provided in the citation in the reading list. Click on GO to access the journal article - you may be asked to log in using your University username and password.

The journal article may be available from more than one database. If so, use the publisher’s site (such as Elsevier, Springer, Wiley etc.) rather than an aggregator database (EBSCO, Proquest). An aggregator database includes journals from several different publishers.

Figure 3 - Accessing an e-journal article via Library databases


4. Check the journal article website for a link to access a PDF of the article. Click on the link to open the PDF to confirm that the link does go to the pdf and there are no problems with the PDF.

Where a PDF link is located will vary from journal to journal, but it is generally located near the top of the page near the citation information.

Figure 4 - Checking for a PDF link for a Journal Article


5. Save a copy of the citation information and the link to the PDF.  This step will vary from journal to journal, but is usually denoted by a ‘View or Save citation option’ or an ‘Export’ option. If unsure use the journal’s “Help” information.    

Figure 5 - Exporting the citation as a RIS file


6. Save or export the citation as a RIS file. The file will usually save in your Downloads folder. If you wish to save the folder to another file location or rename the file, select another folder to save the file into and take note of the file name for later reference.

Figure 6 - Selecting the RIS file format

If you are not able to save the citation and export it as a RIS file, then the metadata and link will need to be entered manually. Copy the permalink or stable link (see Finding and saving URLs for online content for more help) and manually add it to Readings Online (see Adding print journal articles to Readings Online manually for more help).

Searching the library catalogue for journal articles 

If there is no Find It @ Unimelb link or no result at all in Google Scholar, search the Library catalogue to confirm that an electronic copy of the article is not available and/or to locate a print copy of the journal article if you do not already have a copy of the article


1. Go to the Library catalogue http://cat.lib.unimelb.edu.au/ and search for the journal title.

Figure 1 - Search the Library Catalogue for Journal Title


2. Click on the journal title to check if it is available electronically or in print.  If the journal is only available in print, follow the steps below in Adding a journal article to Readings Online manually

If no results are found for that journal title or the required volume is not available, you may wish to request an interlibrary loan for the required article

Figure 2 - Search Results for Journal Titles


3. If the journal is available electronically, select the database that matches the year and volume required.

The journal article may be available from more than one database. If so, use the publisher’s site (such as Elsevier, Springer, Wiley etc.) rather than an aggregator database (EBSCO, Proquest). An aggregator database includes journals from several different publishers.

Click on journal title to access the journal article - you may be asked to log in using your University username and Password

Figure 3 - Accessing an Electronic Journal Article


4. From the journal or database home page, locate the required journal article.  Depending on the journal or database either search by journal article title or browse journal issues.

Figure 4 - Locating an Electronic Journal Article


5. Check the journal article website for a link to access a pdf of the article as this indicates that the article is available in full-text.  Where a pdf link is located will vary from journal to journal but it should be located near the top of the page and the citation information. Click on the link to open the pdf to confirm that the link does go to the pdf and there are no problems with the pdf.

Figure 5 - Checking for a pdf link for a journal article


6. Follow the steps outlined above in Adding an electronic journal article using the RIS file.

 

Can't find an electronic copy of your journal article? You can add the journal article manually and upload a PDF copy instead. Copyright restrictions apply.

 

Adding a hyperlink or PDF manually

1. From the Readings Online page in the LMS subject, click on the Add drop down menu and click on the New journal reading option.

 

Figure 1 - Adding a Print Journal Article to Readings Online

2. Follow steps in figure 4 & 5 outlined above in Adding an electronic journal article using the RIS file to enter the information for Availability, Required Reading and notes for Library and students.

3. Enter the citation information for the journal article, ensuring that all required fields (marked with a red asterisk) are complete.  The citation details can be cut and paste from the reading list or the LMS where possible.  Ensure that all the fields are filled out correctly, following the Metadata standards for journal readings guide

 Figure 2 - Entering the Citation Information for a Journal Article

4. Upload either a pdf of the article or a link to the article (if it was not possible to upload an RIS file)

  •  To upload the scanned pdf:

                               i. Under Kind click on File

                               ii. Click on Select the PDF file of the reading from your computer

  • To add a link to an electronic journal article if it was not possible to upload a RIS file:

                                i. Under Kind click on Link

 

                                ii.  Paste the stable or permanent link into the dialogue box

 Figure 3 - Manually entering a link to a Journal Article

  • Do not use the Locate option as there will be no reading available for students to access and this reading will be rejected by Readings Online staff.
  • Do not upload a pdf from a database as this is not permitted under our database library agreement. Please link directly to the article. See Finding and saving URLs for online content on how to link directly to journals articles

5. Review the data entered to make sure there are no errors or spelling mistakes before clicking on  ‘Submit’

                        

6. On the Readings Online home page, a green banner should appear advising that the request has been received and will be reviewed.  The new article should appear in the ‘Ungrouped readings’ section of the screen at the bottom of the list.

If the article does not appear click Refresh to view an updated screen.

Uploaded PDFs will be labeled ‘Submitted” as these need to be reviewed for copyright compliance before the reading can become available to students.   The article should generally be available within 48 hours, however this may take longer in the weeks immediately prior to the start of semester due to the large volumes articles. If you need your readings dealt with urgently please email the readings-online team and include your subject code.

Figure 4 - Journal Article has been submitted to be reviewed

7. Once the article has been approved, test the link to ensure that the journal article will open correctly.

8. Click on the journal article title to view the full citation and check that the citation is correct. 

9. You may wish to organise the new ungrouped readings into groups.  See the Creating content folders section in “Managing your reading list”.

Correcting hyperlinks to electronic journal articles 


 

There may be cases where links to journal articles imported using RIS or Reference Manager files may be broken, incorrect or inactive.  Follow these steps to correct these links.

1. Firstly, locate the reading which with the broken, incorrect or inactive link.

2. Click on the 'Edit this reading' button.

3. Click on the 'Choose new reading file or link' button.

4. In the 'Change reading link/file' box, click on the link button.

5. Cut and paste the correct link into the Link box.  Instructions on how to generate a stable link from different electronic databases can be found here.

6. Click on the Update button on the upper right hand side of the screen.

7. Check that the link has been successfully replaced by clicking on the 'View the reading' button.

Guidelines for manually adding an article