Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Science

Resources in Veterinary Science including printed resources, and electronic resources such as databases, journals and websites

Database News!

CAB Abstracts has moved to the CABI Digital Library Platform in 2023


What is CABI Digital Library?

CABI Digital Library is a new platform that will be the home of all CABI's content including CAB Abstracts, CABI collections and CAB Global Health.

What does it mean for me?

As a MyCABI user, your saved searches within your CABI account will close when CAB Abstracts and Global Health resources fully migrate to CABI Digital Library in Dec 2023.

Unfortunately, CABI has advised that MyCABI account details and searches will not be migrated to the new platform. However, CAB Direct will remain open during the migration process giving you time to build your new searches on CABI Digital Library.
To help you move searches, as well as a variety of user guides and further information from CABI please click here

Key databases


CAB Abstracts
Available via -Cab Abstracts (CABI Digital Library) OR  CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
Access to applied life sciences literature, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition. International coverage. Covers 1910 up to the present.

Medline
Medline covers the fields of : medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, pre-clinical sciences and biosciences. Produced by the National Library of Medicine it contains well over 13 million citations dating back to 1950.

PubMed 
PubMed includes the Medline database and in addition also provides access to additional biomedicine web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.  

Embase

Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering journals in: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, veterinary medicine and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Covers the subjects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences. Produced by th U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Provides access to literature related to animal behaviour. Subjects range from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, and from genetics to applied ethology. Major areas of coverage include aggression, genetics of behaviour, dominance, communication, learning, behavioral ecology.

Animal Health and Production Compendium
Focuses on animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. The database offers: Full expert datasheets - livestock and poultry breeds, diseases, pathogens, foodborne contaminants and food animal products. Also includes conference papers. 

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) 

FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 to present.

Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (Kanehisa Laboratories) 

KEGG is a database resource that integrates genomic, chemical, and systemic functional information. In particular, gene catalogues in the completely sequenced genomes are linked to higher-level systemic functions of the cell, the organism, and the ecosystem. Access to data requires a password.

SciQuest (NZVA) 

SciQuest is a fully indexed and searchable e-library of quality New Zealand and Australian veterinary and animal science and veterinary continuing education publications. The Library has access to selected titles: Proceedings of the New Zealand Society of Animal Production ; Equine Veterinarians Australia Publications, including Proceedings of the Bain Fallon Memorial Lectures and the Australian Equine Veterinarian ; New Zealand Veterinary Association (NZVA) Special Interest Branch Proceedings.

MIMS Online 

MIMS Online is the web version of the MIMS Point of Care database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Other Databases

 

Other databases


Current Contents Connect (ISI) 

This database provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books; also includes relevant, evaluated web sites and documents. Current Contents Connect is comprised of subject editions and collections: Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences (ABES); Social & Behavioral Sciences (SBS); Clinical Medicine (CM); Life Sciences (LS); Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences (PCES); Engineering, Computing & Technology (ECT); Arts & Humanities (AH); Business Collection (BC); Electronics & Telecommunications Collection (EC).

InCites - Essential Science Indicators 
Essential Science Indicators is a unique compilation of performance statistics and trends extrapolated from counts of articles published in scholarly journals and the citations to those articles. Essential Science Indicators is now supported on the InCites platform, a single environment for research and bibliometric assessment and evaluation.

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports provide access to journal citation data used to evaluate and compare journals.

 


Multidisciplinary databases


Scopus (Elsevier) 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. (With University of Melbourne full text authentication)

 

Vet Anatomy

Vet-Anatomy is an interactive atlas of veterinary anatomy based on medical imaging. It has been created on the same framework than the popular award-wining e-Anatomy, but dedicated to animals.

It is now available for unimelb students and staff.