Library Guides: Veterinary Science: Websites

Searching the Internet

There are various internet search services that can help you find veterinary information on the web.

Google Scholar - for searching scholarly literature including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

Remember that all internet resources need to be evaluated to ensure they are reliable and authoratative sources.

NAVLE

North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)

The NAVLE is a requirement for licensure to practice veterinary medicine in all licensing jurisdictions in North America.

The site includes sample multiple choice questions.

Other useful publications/resources include

Navle secrets study guide : your key to exam success : Navle test review for the North American Veterinary licensing examination 2017

North American Veterinary Licensing Examination® : flashcard study system

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NAVLE by Patricia Schenck 2010,

Saunders comprehensive review for the NAVLE interactive exam practice CD-ROM by Patricia Schenck 2009, and

Mosby's Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Boards

Organisations and Associations

AVA Online (Australian Veterinary Association)
Official website of the Australian Veterinary Association.Membership information and conference details, information for Vets on important animal health issues. Some parts of the site are accessible by AVA members only.
AVMA Online (American Veterinary Medical Association)
Website of the American Veterinary Medical Association. Information on AVMA policies, veterinary organisations, education, veterinary news. Also information for pet owners.
British Veterinary Association
The national representative body for the veterinary profession in Britain.
Canadian Veterinary Medical Association
Federation of Veterinarians of Europe
Umbrella organisation of 38 European Veterinary Organisations
New Zealand Veterinary Association
Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons
The regulatory body for the veterinary profession in the United Kingdom. The site gives information about the organisation, news, membership,education and careers. Includes an online guide to professional conduct (click on publications).
Veterinary Council of New Zealand
Manages the registration of Veterinarians, promotes standard, hears complaints, and has disciplinary powers. The site includes the Code of Professional Conduct (click on Publications)
Veterinary Evidence
Veterinary Evidence is an online, open access, peer-reviewed journal owned and published by RCVS Knowledge. It publishes content relating to evidence-based veterinary medicine (EBVM) and its application in veterinary practice. The journal is aimed at veterinary surgeons, veterinary nurses, paraprofessionals and allied professions in the international veterinary community.
Veterinary Medicines Directorate - UK
Responsible for the authorising and controlling the manufacture and availability of veterinary medicines in the United Kingdom.
Veterinary Practitioners Registration Board of Victoria
The Board registers veterinary practitioners, investigates complaints, issues guidelines
World Veterinary Association
A federation of over 80 national veterinary organisations.

Additional Websites

Some additional websites relevant to Veterinary Science:

Veterinary Conferences

VetAgenda - a database of veterinary conferences, congresses and courses throughout the world.

International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) - conference proceedings available online. Includes World Buiatrics Congress Proceedings 2004 on, and American Association of Equine Practitioners Proceedings 1997 on. Look under Library for proceedings after login. Need to register on IVIS.

Legal Information

Australian Legal Information Institute - free internet access to Australian legal materials including federal and state legislation, subject databases and an index to Australian law on the Internet.

Federal Register of Legislation - Provides access to Commonwealth Bills and Acts and other Legislation.

Victorian Legislation and Parliamentary Documents - Provides access to Victorian Parliamentary documents for the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

General Veterinary Resources

Animal Health Australia
Information on national animal health services, animal disease surveillance, emergency animal disease preparedness.
Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
Information under Plants and Animals on native animals and pest animals.
AUSVETPLAN Manuals and Documents - Animal Health Australia
Links to manuals, plans and programs dealing with animal disease emergencies or outbreaks.
Pirbright Institute - UK - Virus Pages
Information on viruses, links to virology websites.
IVIS - International Veterinary Information Service
Includes access to electronic books, conference proceedings, meetings calendar, short courses, and continuing education. Need to register.
Martindale's Virtual Veterinary Center
U.S. site with information on courses (including online courses), textbooks, databases, links to useful sites, research
Veterinary Internship and Residency Program - United States
Sponsored by the American Association of Veterinary Clinicians this site provides information on internships and residency in veterinary hospitals and universities in the United States including application information.
Animal Management in Rural and Remote Indigenous Communities
AMRRIC is an independent group of veterinarians, academics, health and animal management professionals working with people in remote and rural communities to improve animal and community health.