You can further limit this search to LOCATION, eg Southbank Library.
Sound Recordings Database
Can't find it on the Library Catalogue?
The Sound Recordings Database is an index to CDs and vinyl recordings.This database is no longer being added to. We suggest that you use the library catalogue, however this database is particularly useful for locating vinyl recordings.
You can search for a recording by a combination of composer name, title, soloist or ensemble. For example:
The results list will display all formats:
Vinyl discs (B prefix)
Audio cassettes (CC prefix)
For Aboriginal Music, use the Genre search. For example:
A 6-part oral history of notated music in Australia, from the time of European settlement to the present day. Andrew Ford talks with Australian composers and musicians, including Anne Boyd, Richard Meale, Peter Sculthorpe, Ross Edwards, Peggy Glanville-Hicks, Carl Vine, Brett Dean and Elena Kats-Chernin. Their stories are an interpretation of Australia's musical history, and the effects it has had on them and their contemporaries.
A 7-part series of off-air programs exploring some of the music performed in Australia and much of which was also
created here, together with the stories of those who heard it. Ranging from 1788 to the present day.
Unimelb login required.
Multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. The Naxos Music Library offers streamed audio recordings from the complete catalogues of the Naxos and Marco Polo labels and selected recordings from over 640 other independent labels including EMI, Warner Classics and Sony Classical. Additional resources include music notes, cover artwork, tracklistings, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, composer and artist biographies, pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, glossary, guide to musical terms and work analyses.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.