Tips for finding articles
Online Databases:
- Discovery cross-searches a large number of databases. Use the Advanced Search for the best results.
- Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases.
- Google Scholar is a convenient search tool but you need to set up your Google Scholar preferences to search effectively. When linked, Google Scholar will display Find It@UniMelb links next to articles that are available online.
The most relevant subject-specific databases and journals are listed below.
- Online version not available? Print journals are listed in the Library Catalogue.
- If you know the name of the database or journal you want, you can search directly in individual databases or journals.
- Staff and students may request document delivery through interlibrary loans.
Use the BrowZine app to follow journals and get notifications on new issues and published articles.
Music Databases
- Index to the Australian musical news, 1911-1963 / Lina Marsi.This book indexes an important Australian music journal
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.
- JSTORJSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a constantly expanding range of academic content.
- Music Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFormerly The Music Index Online by Harmonie Park Press, this database provides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. With coverage commencing from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing of content from the early 1800s through to the present. The database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music, as well as music-related articles published in conference proceedings; articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars; and articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians, composers and institutions dating back to the 18th century. Updated monthly.
- Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)Oxford Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. It includes updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. In addition, users can search and access the Oxford Reference titles: Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music
- APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)APA-FT provides full text coverage of selected scholarly articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences and is produced by the National Library of Australia.
- Australian Dictionary of Biography OnlineThere are over 10,000 scholarly biographies of persons who were significant in Australian history.
- BabelScoresBabelScores is an online library of contemporary music, including well-known composers as well as emergent young talents from all over the world. It offers a large growing collection of streaming audio alongside the scores which are available in a virtual booklet format. 3 concurrent users.
- Music AustraliaA national body representing music, and musicians. They deliver campaigns, information, resources, sector networking, community engagement, a national school music participation program, and demonstration projects
Using Advanced Google Search
Use the site or domain limiter in Google Advanced Search to quickly find information on websites and online publications.
For example:
Limit search results to only show results from e-flux by including site:e-flux.com or Frieze using site:frieze.com in your search.
