Library Guides: Music Therapy: Find Journal Articles

Tips for finding articles

Online Databases:

Discovery cross-searches a large number of databases. Use the Advanced Search for the best results.
Proquest Central is similar to Discovery, searching across multiple databases.
Google Scholar is a convenient search tool but you need to set up your Google Scholar preferences to search effectively. When linked, Google Scholar will display Find It@UniMelb links next to articles that are available online.

The most relevant subject-specific databases and journals are listed below.

Online version not available? Print journals are listed in the Library Catalogue.
If you know the name of the database or journal you want, you can search directly in individual databases or journals.
Staff and students may request document delivery through interlibrary loans.

Use the BrowZine app to follow journals and get notifications on new issues and published articles.

Music Therapy Databases

PsycINFO (Ovid)
PsycINFO is the comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It is a large database of scientific, technical, and medical research with a wide variety of features and content.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)
Indexes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, including music therapy. Strong in European content.
Music Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes many journals on music, musicians and the music industry; includes music therapy titles. Coverage from 1970
Performing Arts Database (Proquest)
Provides full text of over 140 music-related journals and magazines and indexing to hundreds more; stronger in the most recent 10 years.
MEDLINE Tutorial (Web of Knowledge)
Medline is the peak source for medical literature, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It uses the powerful MeSH (medical subject headings) search categories. We have several subscriptions to Medline with different search screens.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL An authoritative source on nursing and allied health, dating from 1981. Covers use of music therapies by allied health professionals.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database,NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About The Cochrane Collaboration.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence to inform your practice. Covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties

Journals@Ovid
Journals@Ovid provides access to a large collection of premium online journals in science, medicine, and healthcare, and a number of EBP tools.
Music Therapy Research
Contains full text articles originally published in three music therapy journals (Journal of music therapy (1964-2008), Music therapy (1981-1996) and Music therapy perspectives (1982-1984, 1986-2008)) and research papers supported by the Arthur Flagler Fultz Research Fund between 1998 and 2008. Allows the user to listen to recorded music therapy examples.

Music Therapy Journals

Related Journals

Other sources

Music Therapy Research
Contains full text articles originally published in three music therapy journals (Journal of music therapy (1964-2008), Music therapy (1981-1996) and Music therapy perspectives (1982-1984, 1986-2008)) and research papers supported by the Arthur Flagler Fultz Research Fund between 1998 and 2008. Allows the user to listen to recorded music therapy examples.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ERIC (ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks on JSTOR, helping patrons discover, use, and build upon a constantly expanding range of academic content.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature. It is a large database of scientific, technical, and medical research with a wide variety of features and content.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.