Skip to main content

Free online resources for teachers: Getting Started

No longer studying? No problem. The Free online resources for teachers guide can help you get started. It is intended as a resource to beginning and practicing teachers, and to showcase the many freely available teacher resources on the web.

Getting Started

Use the tabs to navigate within this guide

screenshot of the guide navigation menu, highlighting where to access the databases section of the guide


Your Library

The Giblin Eunson Library is located at 111 Barry Street (opposite University Square), Campus Map (Melway 2B C9, Building 105).

View the Library Opening Hours

Free library memberships

    A membership to a public library offers so much more than books and magazines! Public libraries also provide access to databases and ebook collections.

Victorian Public Libraries:

Victoria has a network of over 45 public library services, there are 209 branch libraries and  27 mobile libraries. These include free remote access to Databases and ebooks, as well as a free inquiry service - Ask a Librarian.

State Library of Victoria:

The State Library of Victoria offers free memberships.  Members enjoy remote access to ejournals and databases.

Services include Ask a Librarian, and access to rich and diverse collections including over 2 million books, manuscripts, audio visual, historical collections and more.

Welcome

How do you keep up to date with the latest research and curriculum ideas if you are no longer studying, but are working in the education profession?  This guide brings together a wealth of free educational resources that can support beginning and practising teachers to continue research and scholarship.

If you do decide to access The University of Melbourne's wide-range of scholarly information resources after graduation (e.g. databases, journal access), this is available through a paid subscription to Library Services for Alumni of The University of Melbourne.

Education Liaison Team

Appy Laspagis
Contact:
Education Librarian

T:8344 7119

E:laspagis@unimelb.edu.au