Key Databases
Medline
Comprehensive in the biomedical sciences including audiology, speech pathology and allied health.
* Medline is available at the University of Melbourne through the following platforms:
CINAHL covers allied health disciplines including audiology and speech pathology and consumer health.
EMBASE Comprehensively covers medical literature including drug safety/development, medical devices and biomedical science.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts : LLBA Linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases broadly cover health, sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Scopus (Elsevier)Scopus is a multidisciplinary database indexing peer-reviewed research literature, trade publications and book series. Coverage includes science, medicine, the social sciences, arts and humanities. Specialist features include cited reference searching.
- Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Google Scholar(With University of Melbourne authentication) Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Other releated databases
- APAIS-Health - Australian Public Affairs Information Service – Health (Informit)Focuses on Australian health and medical literature
- InspecA bibliographic database offering literature in: electrical engineering; electronics; physics; control engineering; information technology; communications; computers; computing; manufacturing and production engineering. Coverage from 1898 to the present day.
- PsycINFO (Ovid)Comprehensive coverage in psychology and related disciplines as well he psychological aspects of other disciplines including audiology and speech pathology.
- ERIC (EBSCO)The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Point of care resources
- PubMed Clinical Queries (NCBI) This link opens in a new windowSystematic reviews, clinical studies and medical genetics are extrapolated from the PubMed platform.
- BMJ Best PracticeBMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier)ClinicalKey (Australian edition) is a database designed specifically to address physicians’ key search requirements and deliver answers that are more relevant than those provided by conventional clinical search engines. The ebook and ejournal content in ClinicalKey comes from Elsevier’s extensive range of medical publications. The database also has more than 20 million MEDLINE abstracts, which are updated daily.
Search Planner
This tool is useful for planning your search strategy to assist with finding relevant literature in databases.