Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geospatial (GIS), Spatial Data and Map Resources

Geospatial map resources and data sources

Map guide introduction

Locating spatial data can be difficult. Please don’t hesitate to contact Map Collection staff for assistance if you are having difficulty finding something in particular. This guide is not intended to cover all resources available, but rather list the most commonly requested and regularly updated.

Other guides and resources are available from the Map Collection Homepage 

Map Collection social media   

Any queries can be emailed to Library staff maps-info@unimelb.edu.au or Book a Research Consultation

Last Updated Dec 2021

Collection updates

The Map Collection has moved to the Baillieu Library! 

As part of the new Student Precinct project the Map Collection has been moved to Special Collections in the Baillieu Library. All material and services are still available on request from the Reading Room on the third floor.

     Victoria

Victoria

Additional UniMelb related services

Some historical maps in the Library Map Collection
This is not an exhaustive list and these maps are not online, but are hardcopy only located for use in the Map Collection.  For further assistance contact the Map Collection

     Australia and states

Australian specialist spatial resources

Australian specialist spatial resources

International sources of GIS data

Open StreetMap data downloads

OpenStreetMap data download locations

Specialised data collections

Sites providing online access to specialised subject data

Remote sensing earth observation

Free satellite imagery data sources

Map Libraries, Blogs & Societies

Map Blogs

Cartographic Societies and Groups

Historical

GIS Spatial Software (inc. ArcGIS)

ArcGIS logoUniMelb Installation

For PC users UniMelb students can get ESRI ArcGIS for remote installation on personal devices from https://studentit.unimelb.edu.au/software.  Click on ArcGIS in the app list and follow the instructions.

Alternatively, use the online UniApps version from any computer operating system. Remember to save your work out of MyUniApps as it deletes everything on logging out.

ArcGIS Training and Tutorials

QGIS banner

A Free and Open Source Geographic Information System


Some examples of FOSS web mapping APIs for building browser-based apps with HTML and JavaScript.


Web mapping APIs created by commercial software companies have become very popular. In this context, "proprietary" means that the API's source code cannot be downloaded and/or is not permitted to be modified and/or cannot be deployed without paying a royalty.

Spatial software support

Cartographic referencing and citation

Need help with referencing and citing cartographic material? Visit our Cartographic Citation Guide below:

Contact Us

Profile Photo
David Jones
Contact:
UniMelb Library Map Collection
8344 8416
Website
Social: Twitter Page