Skip to main content

Aerial Photography Resources

A guide to aerial photography resources for Melbourne and Victoria.

Aerial Photography @ UniMelb

This guide is intended for use by The University of Melbourne students and research staff.  All hardcopy resources held by the Library Map Collection are viewable within the Map Collection.  

Requests for duplication or copying services from The University of Melbourne staff or students - for research and/or teaching purposes only - should be discussed with Map Collection staff.

Duplication/copy services are not available to members of the public.

URL https://library.unimelb.edu.au/collections/map_collection
Email maps-info@unimelb.edu.au

Twitter
 https://twitter.com/MapCurator

Victorian Landata online repository

 

Victorian Land Tiles Office recordsThis is a fee for service repository of the Victorian government archive digitalised repository 

 

  • Go to https://www.landata.vic.gov.au

  • Click the ‘Central Plan Office’ link

  • Select ‘ Historic Aerial Photography - 1930s to 1990s’

  • Register a personal account and login

  • Either search the map for the area of interest or use the tools to navigate the map
    Use the ‘Identify Aerial Photograph’ tool and click on the small coloured dots to gain information and select to add to your cart




    1940’s 1950’s aerial photographs are available free of charge @ https://services.land.vic.gov.au/DELWPmaps/historical-photomaps/ but this does not include later material. 

Historical Aerial Photography

All hardcopy resources held by the Library Map Collection are viewable from within the Map Collection.  

Requests for duplication or copying services from University of Melbourne staff or students - for research and/or teaching purposes only - should be discussed with Map Collection staff.

Duplication/copy services are not available to members of the public.

Pre 2000 Aerial Photography held in the Map Collection

All hard copy maps and aerial photographs are held in the Map Collection on the 4th floor in the ERC Library and can be accessed on request. You cannot borrow items held in the Map Collection and copying restricted by copyright law.

Melbourne 1945.  Scale 1:5,660. B&W

  • The Map Collection holds, what is believed to be, the only set left of original photomaps of 1945 Melbourne.
  • These photomaps are orthorectified and annotated with main street, river and suburb names.
  • While the original aerial photography still survives these photomaps have been altered to resemble map sheets.
  • These maps have been digitised (and are now out of copyright restrictions) and placed online in jpeg format for easy access.
  • Index.

Victorian 1945-1960  Scale 1:15,840. B&W

  • While not all of Victoria is covered, this set is very useful for looking at built area and vegetation coverage.
  • Many of the sheets are still within copyright so will not be digitised in the foreseeable future.
  • Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy, as the sheets are old and fragile.
  • Call no.: ERC MAPS S 820 bf (16) 1945-
  • Historical Aerial Photos of Victoria 1940's -1950's

Melbourne 1970.  1:10,000, B&W

  • The Map Collection holds a full set of aerial photographs covering Melbourne.
  • While sheet numbers don't match the index, Map Collection staff can use the run numbers to locate individual sheets.
  • This may take a while if there are no handle landmarks.
  • Please bring your digital camera if you wish to make a copy as the sheets are old and fragile.
  • Call no.: ERC MAPS Z AIR 820.9536 br (10) 1970

Melbourne 1982. 1:25,000, B&W

  • This is a good set of aerial photographs that cover large areas of Melbourne in moderate detail.
  • No index is presently available so Map Collection staff may take a while to find the area you require
  • No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions.  The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
  • Call no. ERC Z AIR 820.953 br (25) 1982

Melbourne 1989. 1:15,000. Colour

  • This series of aerial photography was the last major set purchased in hard copy by the Map Collection.
  • It covers most of urban Melbourne and some of the rural area on the edges.  At a scale of 1:15 it provides moderate detail, in full colour.
  • Indexes are indicative of run numbers only provide an estimate of sheet numbers for Map Collection staff to look up.
  • Stereo pairs and a single scope are available for use in the Map Collection.
  • No copies are able to be made due to copyright restrictions.  The material can be purchased from aerial photography vendors
  • Call no. Z AIR 821br (15) 1989

Rural Victoria

Digital material for all of the state is available for University of Melbourne students and staff only.  Please contact the Map Collection staff to gain access.  All digital material is provided under a Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment license for education and research usage by University of Melbourne staff and students only.

 

Victorian Cities and Towns (Hard copy)

Find below a list of Victorian towns for which aerial photography is held, in alphabetical order by place name. Aerial photos for rural Victoria can sometimes be difficult to source. If you are having difficulties, please contact the Map Collection staff for assistance.

These sheets are available by request in hard copy from the Map Collection staff on level 4 of the ERC library.

Town Name Sheet No. Scale Date           Colour or B&W
Aireys Inlet 7721 1:25,000 19-Feb-84 B&W
Albury 8225 1:25,000 24-Oct-91 Colour
Alexandria 8023 1:40,000 10-Feb-82 B&W
Anglesea 7721 1:25,000 19-Feb-84 B&W
Apollo Bay 7620 1:25,000 06-Jan-83 B&W
Ararat 7423 1:25,000 02-Jan-98 B&W
Bacchus Marsh 7722 1:25,000 24-Oct-82 B&W
Bairnsdale 8422 1:25,000 26-Nov-78 B&W
Ballan 7722 1:25,000 13-Dec-77 B&W
Ballarat 7622 1:25,000 10-Sep-81 B&W
Ballarat 7622 1:25,000 30-Nov-90 Colour
Barooga (NSW) 8026 1:25,000 09-Dec-92 Colour
Barwon Heads 7721 1:25,000 17-May-84 B&W
Beach Forest 7620 1:25,000 13-Feb-83 B&W
Beechworth 8225 1:25,000 22-Sep-82 B&W
Bellfield Settlement 7423 1:25,000 08-Jan-80 B&W
Benalla 8024 1:25,000 11-Jan-93 Colour
Bendigo 8024 1:25,000 12-Nov-90 Colour
Bendigo 7724 1:25,000 11-Nov-80 B&W
Beufort 7523 1:25,000 02-Jan-80 B&W
Beulah 7326 1:40,000? 05-Mar-73 B&W
Birchip 7426 1:25,000 17-Nov-78 B&W
Blackwood 7723 1:25,000 22-Dec-89 Colour
Bright 8224 1:50,000 18-Mar-80 B&W
Broadford 7923 1:25,000 24-12-89 Colour
Buchan 8522 1:25,000 29-Jan-92 Colour
Buninyong 7622 1:25,000 10-Sep-81 B&W
Camperdown 7521 1:25,000 10-Mar-83 B&W
Casterton 7122 1:25,000 29-Nov-75 B&W
Castlemaine 7723 1:25,000 22-Dec-89 Colour
Castlemaine 7723 1:25,000 11-Dec-81 B&W
Charlton 7527 1:25,000 15-Dec-78 B&W
Cobram 8026 1:25,000 09-Dec-92 Colour
Cohuna 7626 1:25,000 13-Nov-89 Colour
Colac 7621 1:25,000 12-Dec-82 B&W
Corryong 8425 !:25,000 22-Feb-86 B&W
Coleraine 7222 1:25,000 17-Jan-76 B&W
Creswick 7623 1:25,000 08-Oct-81 B&W
Daylesford 7723 1:25,000 12-Oct-81 B&W
Dimboola 2325 1:25,000 24-Mar-81 B&W
Drouin 8021 1:25,000 12-Jan-90 Colour
Echuca 7825 1:25,000 19-Oct-90 Colour
Echuca 7825 1:40,000 02-Dec-82 B&W
Edenhope 7123 1:25,000 24-Feb-82 B&W
Eildon 8023 1:50,000 31-Dec-78 B&W
Euroa 8024 1:50,000 03-Mar-82 B&W
Euston (NSW) 7428 1:25,000 13-Dec-88 Colour
Fish Creek 8120 1:25,000 10-Dec-80 B&W
Foster 8120 1:25,000 26-Nov-80 B&W
Geelong 7721 1:25,000 01-May-84 B&W
Geelong (Melb metro mosaic) n/a 0.35m pixels   2001 colour; digital
Gordan 7722 1:25,000 13-Dec-77 B&W
Halls Gap 7423 1:25,000 08-Jan-80 B&W
Hamilton 7322 1:25,000 26-Oct-79 B&W
Healesville 8022 1:25,000 04-Nov-82 B&W
Heathcote 7824 1:25,000 22-Dec-89 Colour
Heyfield 8222 1:25,000 ? Colour
Horsham 7324 1:25,000 27-Feb-82 B&W
Inverloch 8020 1:25,000 13-Jan-91 Colour
Kerang 7626 1:40,000 18-Dec-83 B&W
Kilmore 7823 1:25,000 06-Feb-84 B&W
Korumburra 8021 1:25,000 07-Dec-79 B&W
Kyneton 7723 1:25,000 12-Oct-81 B&W
Lakes Entrance 8422 1:41,000 20-Feb-90 Colour
Lakes Entrance 8422 1:25,000 02-Dec-78 B&W
Leongatha 8021 1:25,000 14-Dec-79 B&W
Lorne 7620 1:25,000 18-May-83 B&W
Maffra 8222 1:25,000 17-Dec-88 Colour
Mallacoota 8823 1:25,000 29-Jan-90 Colour
Manangatang 7427 1:25,000 19-Apr-83 B&W
Mansfield 8123 1:25,000 14-Jan-92 Colour
Maryborough 7623 1:25,000 14-Dec-79 B&W
Mildura 7329 1:25,000 26-Nov-80 B&W
Mildura 7329 1:25,000 03-Jul-92 Colour
Moama (NSW) 7825 1:25,000 19-Oct-90 Colour
Moe 8121 1:40,000 06-Feb-82 B&W
Mooroopna 7925 1:40,000 18-Jan-83 B&W
Mooroopna 7925 1:40,000 05-Nov-90 Colour
Morewell 8121 1:40,000 07-Feb-81 B&W
Mortlake 7421 1:25,000 23-Sep-83 B&W
Mt. Beauty 8324 1:25,000 15-Dec-88 Colour
Mt. Buller 8123 1:25,000 27-Feb-92 Colour
Myrtleford 8224 1:50,000 18-Mar-80 B&W
Nagambie 7924 1:25,000 21-Nov-89 Colour
Nathalia 7925 1:25,000 19-Nov-90 B&W
Nhill 7225 1:25,000 25-Mar-81 B&W
Nowingi 7328 1:20,000 16-Apr-83 B&W
Numurkah 7925 1:50,000 05-Dec-82 B&W
Omeo 8423 1:45,000 09-Jan-77 B&W
Orbost 8522 1:25,000 09-Oct-81 B&W
Ouyen 7327 1:20,000 27-Nov-75 B&W
Paynesville 8422 1:25,000 02-Dec-78 B&W
Phillip Island 7921 1:25,000 28-Nov-89 Colour
Port Campbell 7420 1:25,000 02-Jan-91 Colour
Port Campbell 7420 1:25,000 13-Feb-83 B&W
Port Fairy 7321 1:25,000 03-Jan-81 B&W
Portarlington 7821 1:25,000 04-Feb-84 B&W
Portland 7221 1:25,000 02-Feb-81 B&W
Queenscliff 7821 1:25,000 17-May-84 B&W
Robinvale 7428 1:25,000 13-Dec-88 Colour
Robinvale 7428 1:25,000 20-Apr-83 B&W
Rokewood 7622 1:25,000 16-Sep-81 B&W
Rutherglen 8125 1:25,000 02-May-82 B&W
Sale 8321 1:25,000 27-Nov-78 B&W
Seymour 7923 1:25,000 14-Dec-83 B&W
Shepparton 7925 1:40,000 18-Jan-83 B&W
Shepparton 7925 1:40,000 05-Nov-90 Colour
St. Arnaud 7524 1:25,000 27-Dec-73 B&W
Stawell 7423 1:25,000 30-Oct-79 B&W
Stratford 8322 1:25,000 27-Apr-90 Colour
Swan Hill 7627 1:15,000 18-Apr-83 B&W
Swifts Creek 8423 1:40,000 14-Jan-85 B&W
Traralgon 8221 1:30,000 17-Mar-80 B&W
The Walnuts 8423 1:40,000 14-Jan-85 B&W
Tallangatta 8325 1:25,000 6-Jan-88 Colour
Tidal River 8119 1:40,000 14-Jan-81 B&W
Torquay 7721 1:25,000 19-Feb-84 B&W
Tresthan 7723 1:25,000 12-Oct-81 B&W
Walhalla 8122 1:50,000 12-Mar-80 B&W
Wangaratta 8125 1:25,000 22-Sep-82 B&W
Warracknabeal 7325 1:25,000 23-Mar-81 B&W
Warrnambool 7321 1:25,000 14-Dec-88 Colour
Warragul 8021 1:25,000 02-Oct-79 B&W
Whitfield 8124 1:50,000 07-Apr-82 B&W
Winchelsea 7621 1:25,000 10-Mar-83 B&W
Wodonga 8225 1:25,000 24-Oct-91 Colour
Wodonga 8225 1:25,000 22-Sep-82 B&W
Wonthaggi 8020 1:25,000 14-Dec-79 B&W
Woodend 7823 1:25,000 06-Feb-84 B&W
Yallourn Nth. 8121 1:40,000 06-Feb-82 B&W
Yallourn 8121 1:40,000 06-Feb-82 B&W
Yarragon 8121 1:25,000 14-Oct-91 Colour
Yarram 8220 1:25,000 02-Feb-91 Colour
Yarrawonga 8125 1:25,000 22-Sep-82 B&W
Yea 7923 1:25,000 24-Dec-89 Colour
Yea 7923 1:25,000 24-Dec-89 Colour

Earth observation data

There are many excellent sources of aerial photography, some are free others are subscription based.  

Guide to Cartographic Citation

  Cartographic (Maps) Citation Guide 

This guide is based on the citation styles outlined in the book:

This guide should be used in conjunction with a standard style guide or manual.  Where a standard style guide has a cartographic citation preference that method should be used.
Also included are links to other cartographic style guides by other sources including bias to various style types.

 Map Sheets

Single sheet map

Author. Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of publication: publisher , Date.

eg. Department of housing. Vermont [cartographic material] 1:4,375,000.Melbourne,Vic.:Commonwealth Government, 1977.

Map series as a whole

  • Map series: a group of map sheets usually having the same scale and cartographic specifications and collectively identified by the producing agency. May be identified by a name, number or a combination of both.

Author. Series Title [format]. Number of sheets within series. Scale, if not included in the title. Place of publication: Publisher , Date.

eg. Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works. [MMBW 3rd series]| [cartographic material]. [Four hundred]. 1:5,000, Melbourne: MMBW, 1977-1986.

Facsimile or reproduction

Author. Title [format].Scale. Original place of publication: Original Publisher, Original Date of publication. As reproduced by, Place of publication : Publisher, Date.

eg. Speed, John. The kingdome of Great Britaine and Ireland.[facsimile] London: I. Sudbury and George Humble in Popes Head Alley, 1610.As reproduced by London : Geographical magazine, 1986

Inset or ancillary map

  • Inset map: a smaller map placed within the neatline of the primary map.
  • Ancillary map: a smaller map appearing on the same sheet as the primary map but outside the neat line.

Inset or ancillary map author. Inset or ancillary title [format].Scale.On: Map author. Map title [Format]. Edition Scale. Series title and /or number. Place of publication: Publisher , Date.

eg. New Zealand Automobile Association Inc.City centre. [cartographic material]1:15,000 .On: New Zealand Automobile Association Inc.Hamilton city [cartographic material]5th ed., partial rev.1:28,000.AA city maps. Auckland [N.Z.] : New Zealand Automobile Association, 2003.

Diagram / View

  • Diagram: a line drawing which explains rather than represents.
  • View: a pictorial representation of a scene or prospect.

Author. Title [format]. Scale(s). Place of publication: Publisher , Date.

eg. Victoria. Dept. of Sustainability and Environment. Spatial Information Infrastructure. Vicmap 1:50 000 topographic map series - Adjoining Sheet Diagram [cartographic material].1:50,000. East Melbourne : Department of Sustainability and Environment, Spatial Information Infrastructure 2006-

 Maps in Books and Journals

Book or atlas

Author. Map Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of publication: publisher, Date.

eg. Melway street directory of greater Melbourne [cartographic material]. 1st Ed.. Various Scales. Moorabbin, Vic. : Melway Pub. 1966.

Map within Book, Atlases, Other

Book Author. Book Title. Edition. Place of Publication : Publisher, Date, Page.

Melway street directory of greater Melbourne. 1st Ed.. Various Scales. Moorabbin: Melway Pub. 1966. p44-45.

Map in a journal or periodical article

Author. Map Title [format]. Edition. Scale. In: Article author. Article title, Journal title, Volume ( Date): Page.

eg. Homem, "Lopo Lopo Homen, mapa mundi"[map]. In John Hewitt. "The terrestrial sphere of 'The Spheres' tapestries", The Globe no.64 2010: 32.

Map in a thesis or dissertation

Map Author if different form thesis or dissertation author. Map Title [format]. Scale. 

eg. Been, Jumbuck. Middle of Australia [cartographic material] 1.7=300km. Adelaide, S.A.: Moonks, 1925.

Within Title:

Author. Thesis or dissertation title. Type of paper, Name of University, Date of issuance, page or map number if applicable.

eg. Mckay,Patty, Australia wide open space’s. 2nd ed. Adelaide, S.A. : Blacks,1935. p. 17

 3D Models & Globes

Relief model

  • Raised relief map: a topographic map moulded into a three-dimensional form.

Author. Title [format]. Edition. Horizontal scale; Place of publication: Publisher, Date.

eg. Litografia artistica cartografica. Victoria [model]. 1:1,000,000. Florence, Italy. Litografia Artistica Cartografica. [1988]

Globe

  • Globe: a spherical representation of the earth and other planetary body.

Author. Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of publication: Publisher , Date.

eg.  Scan-globe, Scanglobe [model]. 1:32,000,000. Denmark: Replogle. [2005].

 

 Aerial Photography

Aerial photographs

  • Aerial photograph: any photograph taken from the air.

Author. "Title or frame number(s)" [format]. Scale. Flight title. Place of publication: Publisher, Date of image collection (NOT date of reproduction). 

Airborne Sensing Corp. "Aerial Photography, Spring 1985. Photos 62 and 63" [aerial photographs]. 1:5,000. Hamilton: Planning and Development Dept., Hamilton-Wentworth Region, 1985.

Satellite imagery

  • Satellite image: Image created from satellite data.

Author. Title or Scene ID, Satellite and sensor name (as appropriate) [format]. Scale. Place of publication: Publisher, Date or image collection (NOT date of reproduction).

eg.  Australian Landsat Station."Australia 1:250,000 satellite imagery sheets"  [cartographic material].  1:250,000. Canberra : Australian Landsat Station, 1982-1985

Flight series as a whole  

Author. Flight Title [format].Scale. Place of publication: Publisher , Date of image collection (NOT date of reproduction).

eg.  Victoria. Division of Survey and Mapping. "Mt. Buller"  [aerial photographs]. 1:5,000. Melbourne : Division of Survey and Mapping, 1992.

Monographic photographs and photographs in flight series

Author. Title or frame number(s) [format].Scale. Flight title (if part of flight), Place of publication: Publisher , Date of image collection (NOT date of reproduction).

eg.  Victoria. Dept. of Property and Services.Melbourne 1989 : project no. 2004 : 4275-6  [aerial photographs].1:15,000. Run 15W, Melbourne:Dept.of Property and Services,1989.

 GIS data

Vector data

Author if known. Title [format]. Scale if accuracy is known. Place of production: Producer, Date when data collected.

eg. Natural Earth Data.Natural Earth[web site]. 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110m scales. 2011

Map created from software

Author if known. Map Title [format]. Scale. Computer database title [format]. Edition. Producer. Date of copyright or production.

eg.  Australian Bureau of Statistics. Cdata2001 [computer map].1:5,000. Census Population and Housing [computer optical disk]. 2001

Map data database

Author if known. Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of production: Producer, Date of copyright or production.

eg.  U.S. Geological Survey. The National Map [website].Scale not given.Reston. U.S. Geological Survey.2011.

Software for manipulating spatial data

Author if known. Title [format]. Edition. Scale. Place of production: Producer, Date of copyright or production.

eg.  Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory .EPICsoftware [software].Scale not given.Seattle: Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, 2006.

Satellite data

Author if known. Title [format]. Scale. Place of production: Producer, Date when data collected.

eg.  Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA). ALOS Satellite Data.[image] Scale not given.Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA). 2010.

 Interactive Online Mapping Apps

Interactive Reference Map

  • Interactive reference map: a map that you generate from the site, by adding, subtracting, or changing layers.

Author or statement of responsibility. Map Title [map].  Data date if known.  Scale; Name of person who generated map; Name of software used to generate the map or “Title of the Complete Document or Site”. <URL> (date generated).

eg.  Population Reference Bureau. The World at 7 Billion: A PRB Interactive Map [map]. 2011.Scale not given. <http://www.prb.org/Publications/Datasheets/2011/world-population-data-sheet/world-map.aspx#/map/population> (generated August 10, 2011)

Maps generated using Google Earth 

Google, Inc. Your Map Title. [map]. Generated by [Jane Smith] [generated date]; using Google Earth [version]

eg.  Google, Inc. Brunswick East VIC, Australia [map]. Generated by [Jane Smith] {generated August 10, 2011]; using Google Earth [version 6.0.3.2197]

Interactive Thematic Map

Author or statement of responsibility. Map Title [map].  Data date if known.  Scale; Name of person who generated map;  Name of software used to generate the map or “Title of the Complete Document or Site”. <URL> (date generated).

eg.  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Median Household Income [map]. 2010. "Interactive Map : 2010 Section 8 Income Limits". <http://www.huduser.org/tmaps/incomeLimits/il.html>(generated August 10, 2011)

Real Time Map

Author or statement of responsibility. Title [format].  Date produced and time if known.  Scale.  “Title of Complete Document or Site”.  <URL> (date accessed).

eg. Auinfo.com. Three Time Zones [map]. August 10, 2011. 4:49pm. "Season Dashboard & Day Light Indicator" <http://www.auinfo.com/Australia_Time_zones.asp> (accessed August 10, 2011)

 Cartographic Glossary

Aerial photograph

Any photograph taken from the air.

Ancillary Map

A smaller map appearing on the same sheet as the primary map but outside the neat line.

Chart

A special purpose map generally designed for nautical or aeronautical navigation or for other particular purposes, in which essential map information is combined with various other data critical to the intended use.

Computer spatial-data files

Files containing digital information which may be used to create maps.

Cross section

A representation of an area as if it were cut off at right angles to an axis.

Diagram

Line drawing which explains rather than represents.

Globe

A spherical representation of the earth and other planetary body.

Hydrographic chart

A chart showing depths of water, nature of the bottom, contours of bottom and coastline, and tides and currents in a given sea and land area. Also called a nautical chart.

Inset map

A smaller map placed within the neatline of the primary map.

Manuscript map

The original drawing of a map also a map which has been reproduced in limited fashion but not published.

Map series

A group of map sheets usually having the same scale and cartographic specifications and collectively identified by the producing agency. May be identified by a name, number or a combination of both.

Model

A general category which denotes any three dimensional representation of an object or geographical area.

Nautical chart

See hydrographic chart.

Neatline

Line separating the body of a map from the map margin.

Orthophotomap

A photo map made from an assembly of orthophotographs, which are aerial photographs that have been corrected for distortion.

Planimetric map

A map which shows only the horizontal positions of features represented, does not show relief.

Profile

A vertical section of the surface of the ground, or of underlying strata, or both, along any fixed line.

Raised relief map

A topographic map moulded into a three-dimensional form.

Satellite image

Image created from satellite data.

Topographic map / or Contours

Map which presents the horizontal and vertical position of the features represented distinguished from a planimetric map by the addition of relief in measurable form.

View

A pictorial representation of a scene or prospect.

David Jones (Maps Librarian

David Jones
Maps Librarian
Email
Request Consultation (UniMelb Only)
WebPage