Geospatial (GIS), Maps & Aerial Photography resources

Air, Climate change, Land and groundwater, Noise, Water, Odour and Waste.

The Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network (TERN) is the national observatory for Australian ecosystems enabling environmental research and management:

LCC investigations and reviews (1971 to 1997), the full texts of the final recommendations reports are available from this site.

This dataset contains vegetation features represented by polygons. Includes tree density levels. See metadata entries for more detailed metadata.

Modelled 2005 Ecological Vegetation Classes (with Bioregional Conservation Status)

Biodiversity Interactive Map (BIM) is used to display and produce maps of Victoria's biodiversity, native vegetation, flora and fauna data.

Tree data for Australia and other countries visualised. Data available from City and Shire councils

The VBA is a tool for everyone interested in species information across Victoria. Threatened and native species information.

This dataset provides the spatial extent in which the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy, as part of the Melbourne Strategic Assessment, applies

This dataset is a definitive view of native vegetation extent and condition across Melbourne’s VC68 urban growth areas

The Atlas of Living Australia is a collaborative, national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources

These packages contain digital versions of almost 47 years of geological exploration data.

A spatial map layer of soil type (Australian Soil Classification) for Victoria. The harmonised map is derived from around 100 soil and land surveys carried out in Victoria over 70 years

Free- downloadable raster versions all geological sheet maps ever produced of Victoria. 1:50:000 - 1:250,000 scale

Includes digitalised historical geological surveys, geological reports, gold field mapping, regolith, geophysical, hydro geological maps and other materials. Free downloads

Researchers from across Australia have joined together to develop detailed digital maps of the country’s soil and landscape attributes.

Mapping API that enables you to build your own earth resource related maps, perform searches and access data, using a huge range of data sources.

A wide range of geological maps, reports and data.

This open-access network of geospatial data, and its supporting infrastructure – the Spatial Information Services Stack (SISS) – will enable users to explore Australia's geology on a national scale

Victoria has a rich supply of earth resources. The Geological Survey of Victoria (GSV) produces a wide range of geological maps, reports and data.

High resolution maps and data, ranging from the most recent day, back to 1900 for rainfall and 1910 for temperature

Access past weather and climate information from the Bureau's vast data archives. Much of this information is freely available for immediate download.

Latest Weather Observations

Bureau weather stations differ in the types and amount of data available.

The National Meteorological Library holds a specialised collection of books, reports and journals related to meteorological and related sciences.

CoastKit provides an online data repository of Victoria’s marine and coastal information.

Spatial layers modelling the extent of land subject to coastal inundation due to projected sea level rise.

The Atlas captures a whole range of mapped data. It is an online repository of spatial data about the Yarra River

Find out more about our transition to renewable energy with many various projects.

The solar resource has been mapped on a 5 km x 5 km grid across Victoria.

One minute statistics on a range of solar parameters, including direct, diffuse and global solar irradiance and terrestrial (longwave) irradiance.

Geothermal energy is clean, reliable and renewable. It comes from naturally occurring heat within hot rocks and water reservoirs below the earth’s surface.