Geospatial (GIS), Maps & Aerial Photography resources

EIA environmental data and information will come from across governments, projects, scientists, and the broader community

The National Meteorological Library holds a specialised collection of books, reports and journals related to meteorological and related sciences.

The Bureau of Meteorology is Australia's national weather forecast, monitoring, and climate agency

Explore the variability of the Australian climate. Rainfall, Temperature, Wind, Humidity, Evaporation, Sunshine, radiation & cloud, Cyclones & thunderstorms.

Observations and information about our changing climate.

This website provides historical climate information and trends from individual observation sites across the Pacific region and East Timor.

Find, access, and re-use data for research

Part of The Copernicus Programme. A wealth of information about the Earth's past, present and future climate

Research Data Australia is the data discovery service of the Australian National Data Service (ANDS). Access and download data

Please note that depending on the requested data and the proposed use, the data retrieval may carry a cost recovery charge.

Australasian region. Includes various data management systems and tools and a central data warehouse.

Includes links to experimental data and results in the areas of model development, data assimilation, climate dynamics, weather forecasting, climate forecasting and ocean & marine forecasting.

These reports provide severe weather information that complements the Bureau's warnings and forecasts to help understand the current weather situation.

Climate change – trends and extremes

A wildfire simulation toolkit for researchers and experts in the disaster resilience field.

Numerous events and data trackers including one of the most popular reduced-complexity climate carbon cycle models online

Explore, download and analyse indices of climate extremes. The Climdex indices can help understand patterns in temperature and precipitation.

Integrated scientific and economic assessment of Australia’s non-renewable and renewable energy resources. Department of the Environment and Energy.

The AREMI website provides access to renewable energy and general information which has been provided by various third party data custodians

Australian solar PV market with live generation data, historical maps and animations, and tools to explore rooftop PV potential and per-postcode market.

These datasets are long term averages of solar radiation at the surface over the Australian land mass.
These data sets are derived from 1990 - 2012 of data

Geoscience Australia is involved in the discovery and development of a number of different energy sources.

Geoscience Australia provides pre-competitive geoscience information to address greenfield exploration challenges and identify new mineral provinces.

Information regarding mineral and minerals exploration in Australia

Researchers from across Australia have joined together to develop detailed digital maps of the country’s soil and landscape attributes.

Includes national data sets: Radiometric Map of Australia, Gravity Anomaly Map , Magnetic Anomaly Map & National ASTER geoscience maps

The Geoscience Portal provides links to information from all of Australia's State, Territory, and Federal Government geoscience agencies.

ASRIS provides online access to the best publicly available information on soil and land resources in a consistent format across Australia

The Continental Geology Section compiles national scale information on Australian geology

AusGeo News features a wide variety of articles covering Geoscience Australia's contribution to natural resource management and conservation.

Provides comprehensive information about Australia's coast, including its estuaries, coastal waterways and climate change impact.

Seamap Australia brings together a range of data from infrastructure such as cabling and pipelines, seafloor habitats, mineral resources and fisheries.

Core information for managing Australia's water resources. The catchments, streams, aquifers, storages, wetlands and man-made structures that make up the hydrological system.

Developed as a national dataset to inform groundwater planning and management. The only national inventory of GDEs in Australia