Library Guides: Research support for Law Graduate Researchers: Using the Library

Library services and access

The Law Library is one of ten University of Melbourne branch libraries and part of a larger collection of special and cultural collections, museums and archives. These areas are staffed by discipline specialists.

The Law Library offers research consultations for Law PhD students. Contact us at law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au

Learn about Library borrowing at the New Students' Library Guide

Log into your borrowing record to manage loans, requests and fines

Library databases

Research Databases
Access key legal databases through the Law Library website's Research Databases page. Options are arranged alphabetically, or by material type, jurisdiction or subject.

Accessing resources from other libraries

Inter-Library Loans
Inter-Library Loans can source items that are not available in our collection from libraries around Australia and the world.
Recommend a Purchase
You can make requests for the collection via this webform. Items will generally be acquired in an electronic format.

Trove (National Library of Australia)
Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It's more than a search engine. Trove brings together content from libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations and gives you tools to explore and build. Trove is many things: a community, a set of services, an aggregation of metadata, and a growing repository of fulltext digital resources.

Borrowing in person from other institutions

You can use your University of Melbourne staff or student card to borrow items from other university libraries in person. Check their requirements before you go.

CAVAL
A CAVAL card allows you to borrow in person from Victorian universities and most TAFE institutions.
ULANZ (University Libraries of Australia and New Zealand) borrowing scheme