Library Guides: Anthropology: Reference sources

Reference sources

Reference sources include encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and companions. They can help you define concepts and build up your background knowledge of a topic. Entries in reference sources often have substantial reference lists, which you can use to find other resources on your topic. Here are some suggested reference sources to get you started:

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference collects encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and other reference works into a single, large, searchable database. Highly recommended for quick facts and for building up your subject knowledge.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology / edited by H. James Birx
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook / edited by H. James Birx
Provides comprehensive coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology / edited by Richard Fardon
Within each section authors at the leading edge of the discipline contribute in-depth chapters on the central principles and latest developments in their area of expertise at that time.