Library Guides: Foreign and Comparative Law: Major foreign legal databases

Major foreign legal databases

Below is a list of databases containing foreign primary and secondary sources.

For further legal research databases, please refer to the Research Databases - Alphabetically on the Law Library website.

Foreign Law Guide (Brill)
Information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are covered and regularly updated by a global team of experts.
HeinOnline
Fully searchable, image-based collection of legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries as well as current-day law journals.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in legal journals published worldwide. Provides coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the US, the UK, Canada and Australia. Also analyses the contents of individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.

Lexis+ Australia
Primarily an Australian legal research platform, Lexis+ also contains primary and secondary material on the United Kingdom, Singapore, Canada, New Zealand, India and Malaysia.
Lexis US Research
This database has a US focus, but does include cases and secondary material from Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, the United Nations and other international organisations.
Westlaw
Contains an extensive collection of US state and federal materials and international content from Canada, Hong Kong, Korea, United Kingdom, European Union and selected content on jurisdictions such as France, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands, South Africa and more.
Westlaw Next Canada
Contains a large collection of Canadian primary and secondary sources. Also has a good international focus in the journal collection.
Westlaw UK
Primarily focused on the United Kingdom jurisdictions, Westlaw UK also contains journal articles concerning the European Union, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and more.